ePremier League

Your guide to the 2021/22 ePL Grand Finals

15 Mar 2022
ePL ePremier League trophy cropped

Find out how this year's ePremier League champions will be crowned

Related Articles
2021/22 ePL Grand Finalists' profiles
How to watch the ePremier League 2021/22 Finals

The 2021/22 ePremier League Grand Finals are taking place from 26-27 March, hosted at a live venue for the first time since the 2018/2019, and there is a new exciting format to decide this season's champions from among the 40 best UK-based players of FIFA 22. 

Here's how it will work. 

The Grand Finals will consist of a group stage followed by knockout rounds, with players from both platforms (PS5 and Xbox) representing their club by competing and playing their matches together. 

Group Stage 

The group stage will include four groups of five clubs.  

Chelsea Liverpool Southampton Spurs
Brighton Burnley Leeds Utd Watford
West Ham  Everton Crystal Palace Aston Villa
Brentford Man City Man Utd Newcastle 
Arsenal Leicester Wolves Norwich

*click on the clubs to see player profiles

What's the format for the group stage matches?
Groups are seeded according to the two players’ combined FGS Points from the FIFA leaderboard as of 20 March 2022.  

In each group, two matches of FIFA 22 will be played between the same four players from the two clubs, with the aggregate score of the two matches determining the winner.

The first match will be played between the two clubs' Xbox players, with the second match played between same two clubs' PS5 players.

How are points awarded?
Clubs will receive three points for winning a match, one point for a draw, and no points for a defeat.

Who qualifies for knockout round?
Clubs will play each other once to determine who goes through to the knockout round. The two highest-finishing clubs in each group will qualify.

What happens if two clubs finish level on points in a group?
Where two clubs have equal points at the end of the group stage, the following tie-breaker procedure will apply to determine, which club qualify:
- The club with the best head-to-head record of the two equally ranked clubs;
- The club with the best overall goal difference at the end group stages;
- The club who won the most matches during the group stages;
- The club who scored the most goals during the group stages; 
- If the clubs cannot be separated by any of the rules above, the League will organise matches between those clubs to determine who qualifies 

What's the format for the knockout round?
The eight qualifying clubs for the knockout round will be seeded according to their finishing position in each group.

Clubs will play matches against each other in the same format as the group stages, with the winner progressing to the next round.

What happens if a knockout match ends in a draw?
Where a knockout round match ends in a draw, as in the aggregate score of the two matches is equal, extra-time and a penalty shootout (if required) will be used to determine the winner.

The platform used for extra-time and the penalty shootout (if required) shall be determined by a coin toss before the start of the match.

Matches will continue until one club remain, with this club becoming the winner of the "ePremier League Grand Final" and therefore the "ePremier League Champion".

What do the winners get?
The two victorious players will also be competing to take home a share of the £100,000 prize pool. 

Also up for grabs are three seats for top-ranking players at the EA SPORTS FIFA 22 Global Series Playoffs. (More information here.)

Latest Videos

More Videos