Premier League Logo

Final-day title deciders: Blackburn triumph in dramatic day

12 May 2022

We remember when leaders Rovers lost at Liverpool but chasers Man Utd failed to take advantage of their slip

With the destiny of the 2021/22 Premier League Trophy going down to the final day, we look at the eight previous times the title was decided at the death.

What was at stake? 

Blackburn Rovers travelled to Anfield on the final day, 14 May 1995, holding a two-point lead over Manchester United.

Sir Alex Ferguson's team had a superior goal difference and knew a win at West Ham United would seal a hat-trick of Premier League titles if Liverpool did them a rare favour by getting a result against Rovers.

How it unfolded

Rovers went ahead at Anfield but the pressure got to Kenny Dalglish's leaders, who were beaten 2-1 by a 90th-minute Jamie Redknapp free-kick.

How it finished

Pos Team Pl GD Pts
1 BLB 42 +41 89
2 MUN 42 +49 88

News leaked through to the Boleyn Ground, where United were still drawing 1-1 with West Ham and knew a goal would crown them champions.

They threw everything at the Hammers' goal but could not find a way past an inspired Ludek Miklosko.

Blackburn lifted the trophy at Anfield to claim their only Premier League title by a point. 

Also in this series

1995/96: Man Utd triumph in style
1998/99: Cole's chip rescues Man Utd after scare
2007/08: Ronaldo hits 31 as United make it 10
2009/10: Eight-goal Chelsea ease to third title
2011/12: Aguero leaves it late to save Man City
2013/14: Man City pip Liverpool with perfect finish
2018/19: City survive scare to retain title

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos