Premier League Logo

Final-day title deciders: City survive scare to retain title

12 May 2022

Like in 2021/22, Man City were one point ahead of Liverpool the last time the race went to the wire

With the destiny of the 2021/22 Premier League Trophy going down to the final day, we look at the eight previous times the title was decided at the death.

What was at stake?

Like in 2021/22, Manchester City and Liverpool were the two contenders the last time the champions were decided on the final day. 

In one of the most exhilarating seasons in Premier League history, Pep Guardiola and Jurgen Klopp's side produced incredible consistency in 2018/19.

Ahead of the final day, City had won 13 straight matches, while Liverpool had picked up maximum points in their last eight.

How it finished

Pos Team Pl GD Pts
1 MCI 38 +72 98
2 LIV 38 +67 97

Leading by one point, City knew another victory would seal the title and make them the first team since Manchester United in 2008/09 to retain the Trophy.

Guardiola's team travelled to Brighton & Hove Albion, while the Reds welcomed Wolverhampton Wanderers to Anfield on the final day, as they will this season.

How it unfolded

Man City fell behind to a Glenn Murray goal but were level 83 seconds later through Sergio Aguero, and Aymeric Laporte's header soon completed the turnaround, before Riyad Mahrez and Ilkay Gundogan completed a 4-1 win. 

Liverpool did their job, beating Wolves 2-0 with a Sadio Mane brace. But, despite accruing 97 points, they had to settle for second.

Also in this series

1994/95: Blackburn triumph in dramatic day
1995/96: Man Utd triumph in style
1998/99: Cole's chip rescues Man Utd after scare
2007/08: Ronaldo hits 31 as United make it 10
2009/10: Eight-goal Chelsea end United's reign
2011/12: Aguero leaves it late to save Man City
2013/14: Man City pip Liverpool with perfect finish

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos