Premier League Logo

Final-day title deciders: Last-gasp Aguero

12 May 2019

Ahead of City's battle for the 2018/19 Trophy going down to the final day, watch when their striker secured an iconic first PL crown

With the destiny of the 2018/19 Premier League Trophy going down to the final day, we look at the seven previous times the title was decided at the death.


Sergio Aguero produced probably the most iconic moment in the competition's history in the final match round seven seasons ago. 

With one fixture each remaining, Manchester City were above Manchester United on goal difference and knew a win would clinch their first-ever title. 

City were at home to Queens Park Rangers, who were one spot and two points above the relegation zone, while United travelled to 11th-placed Sunderland

How it finished

Pos Team Pl GD Pts
1 MCI 38 +64 89
2 MUN 38 +56 89

Both title chasers took first-half leads, through Pablo Zabaleta and Wayne Rooney respectively, before the leaders were given a mighty shock. 

QPR scored twice and led 2-1 in stoppage time to leave United thinking the title was theirs.

But, sensationally, Edin Dzeko and Aguero both scored in stoppage time to give City the win they needed to lift the Trophy ahead of their local rivals. 

Also in this series

Part 1: 1994/95 Blackburn edge Man Utd
Part 2: 1995/96 Man Utd triumph in style
Part 3: 1998/99 Cole chip rescues Man Utd
Part 4: 2007/08 Giggs and Ronaldo seal 10th title
Part 5: 2009/10 Eight-goal Chelsea end United reign
Part 7: 2013/14 Man City pip Liverpool with perfect finish

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos