Premier League Logo

Final-day title deciders: City pip Liverpool with perfect finish

12 May 2022

Ahead of the 2021/22 finale, relive the drama when the race went down to the wire in 2013/14

With the destiny of the 2021/22 Premier League Trophy going down to the final day, we look at the seven previous times the title was decided at the death.

What was at stake? 

Like in 2021/22, Manchester City and Liverpool were the two contenders battling to be crowned champions on the final day. 

City had won four matches in a row to go top by two points ahead of the Reds, who had surrendered their lead after a defeat to Chelsea and a draw with Crystal Palace

Manuel Pellegrini's side hosted West Ham United, and needed only match Liverpool's result against Newcastle United at Anfield in order to claim the club's second PL crown. 

How it finished

Pos Team Pl GD Pts
1 MCI 38 +65 86
2 LIV 38 +51 84
How it unfolded

And it all went to plan for City as Liverpool's Martin Skrtel scored an own goal before they themselves went 2-0 up at the Etihad Stadium with strikes by Samir Nasri and Vincent Kompany

Brendan Rodgers' team did rally and turned their match around, thanks to Daniel Agger and Daniel Sturridge, but City got the victory they needed to be champions as Liverpool were left to rue slipping up in the run-in. 

See more on the 2013/14 season

Also in this series

1994/95: Blackburn triumph in dramatic day
1995/96: Man Utd triumph in style
1998/99: Cole's chip rescues Man Utd after scare
2007/08: Ronaldo hits 31 as United make it 10
2009/10: Eight-goal Chelsea end United's reign
2011/12: Aguero leaves it late to save Man City
2018/19: City survive scare to retain title

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos