Premier League Logo

Final-day title deciders: Chelsea end United reign

11 May 2019

Remember when Carlo Ancelotti's side denied Man Utd a fourth consecutive PL Trophy with an 8-0 victory over Wigan

With the destiny of the 2018/19 Premier League Trophy going down to the final day, we look at the seven previous times the title was decided at the death.


It was in Chelsea's hands to end Manchester United's three-year reign as Premier League champions. 

The Blues were a point ahead of United who needed to better the leaders' result in order to become the first team in history to win four consecutive PL titles. 

How it finished

Pos Team Pl GD Pts
1 CHE 38 +71 86
2 MUN 38 +58 85

But Chelsea swept aside Wigan Athletic at Stamford Bridge, netting eight times including a Didier Drogba hat-trick, as Carlo Ancelotti's side set a record 103 goals scored in a single campaign. 

Man Utd themselves won 4-0 against Stoke City but it was not enough for a final day title-race turnaround. 

Also in this series

Part 1: 1994/95 Blackburn edge Man Utd
Part 2: 1995/96 Man Utd triumph in style
Part 3: 1998/99 Cole chip rescues Man Utd
Part 4: 2007/08 Giggs and Ronaldo seal 10th title
Part 6: 2011/12 Last-gasp Aguero saves Man City
Part 7: 2013/14 Man City pip Liverpool with perfect finish

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to make our website work and improve your user experience. Essential cookies are required for the operation of our website. You may disable these but this may affect website functionality. Non-essential cookies help us improve the functionality of our website by collecting information and reporting on your use of the website as well as improving your user experience. You can manage your cookie settings and switch off non-essential cookies via the “Manage Settings” below.

Manage Settings
I accept cookies from this site