Premier League Logo

Final-day title deciders: Man Utd triumph in style

10 May 2019

Recall when the Red Devils lifted their third PL Trophy ahead of Newcastle United

With the destiny of the 2018/19 Premier League Trophy going down to the final day, we look at the seven previous times the title was decided at the death.


In some ways, the 1995/96 title race can draw comparisons to this season's.

And the way it went should give hope to 2018/19 leaders Manchester City.

City have come from nine points behind Liverpool to lead heading into the final day, a similar route to that of the Manchester United side who won the title 23 seasons ago.

In fact, United overturned an even bigger deficit of 12 points to Newcastle United to hold the upper hand going into the final round of fixtures in that campaign. 

Man Utd had a two-point gap and travelled to Middlesbrough knowing a draw would likely be enough to crown them champions due to their superior goal difference.

Newcastle needed a home win against Tottenham Hotspur and had to hope the Red Devils suffered defeat, or a draw if they could beat Spurs by a big enough scoreline.

But Newcastle's dreams were dashed. 

How it finished

Pos Team Pl GD Pts
1 MUN 38 +38 82
2 NEW 38 +29 78

They fell behind at St James' Park and could only manage a 1-1 draw against Gerry Francis' side with Les Ferdinand getting the equaliser. 

And in the end it would not have mattered anyway, as goals by David May, Andrew Cole and Ryan Giggs secured a 3-0 win for Man Utd who won their third PL title by four points.

Also in this series

Part 1: 1994/95 Blackburn edge Man Utd
Part 3: 1998/99 Cole chip rescues Man Utd
Part 4: 2007/08 Giggs and Ronaldo seal 10th title
Part 5: 2009/10 Eight-goal Chelsea end United reign
Part 6: 2011/12 Last-gasp Aguero saves Man City
Part 7: 2013/14 Man City pip Liverpool with perfect finish

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to make our website work and improve your user experience. Essential cookies are required for the operation of our website. You may disable these but this may affect website functionality. Non-essential cookies help us improve the functionality of our website by collecting information and reporting on your use of the website as well as improving your user experience. You can manage your cookie settings and switch off non-essential cookies via the “Manage Settings” below.

Manage Settings
I accept cookies from this site