Premier League Logo

VAR explained: Incorrect restarts

17 Sep 2020
Lucas Digne

Former referee Chris Foy discuses when VAR can get involved if a set-piece is awarded or taken incorrectly

The 2020/21 Premier League season has brought some new Laws, as well as clarifications as to how the Laws will be applied, and the opening weekend provided some early examples.

Former Premier League referee Chris Foy explains further the decisions made. 

VAR and incorrect restarts

Incident: Spurs v Everton: Dominic Calvert-Lewin's goal for Everton comes from a free-kick taken from the incorrect position, further forward from where the offence took place.

Foy's view: VAR cannot intervene on restarts, only on what happens after the restart. So the free-kick was taken from the incorrect place, but VAR protocol does not allow any intervention. This would also be true of a goal from a corner or throw-in awarded incorrectly to the attacking team. 

Also in this series

Part 1 Handball law
Part 2 Delaying the flag for offside
Part 3 Greater use of RRA
Part 4 Mistaken identity

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos