Haaland voted 2022/23 EA SPORTS Player of the Season

27 May 2023

Norwegian becomes fourth Man City player to win the award to cap a record-breaking debut season

Related Articles
2022/23 EA SPORTS Player of the Season shortlist
Erling Haaland's BEST goals in record-breaking season
Haaland: My ultimate Premier League goal

Erling Haaland has capped a record-breaking campaign by winning the 2022/23 EA SPORTS Player of the Season award.

The Manchester City striker has been critical to their fifth title in six years, scoring 36 goals, breaking the record of 34 for a single Premier League season set by Andrew Cole and Alan Shearer in 42-match Premier League campaigns.

Only Dixie Dean, for Everton in 1927/28, has scored more goals across all competitions (63) in a top-flight English season than Haaland's 52.

See: Why Haaland can get even better

Haaland becomes the third successive Man City player, and fourth overall, to claim the accolade, after Kevin De Bruyne in 2019/20 and 2021/22, while Ruben Dias took the honour in 2020/21. Vincent Kompany was the first, in 2011/12.

The 22-year-old has also won the Hublot Young Player of the Season award, becoming the first player in Premier League history to claim both awards in the same campaign.

Haaland, EA SPORTS Player and Hublot Young Player of the Season

“I am honoured to have become the first player to win both awards in the same season – thank you to everyone who voted for me," Haaland told Man City's official website.  

“It has been an incredible first season in the Premier League and lifting the Trophy last weekend in front of our fans at the Etihad was a very special moment for me.

“These awards would not have been possible without my amazing team-mates, the manager and all of the staff at the club who help me perform on the pitch. Now we have two more finals to go and we want to finish the season strong.”

See: Every EA SPORTS Player of the Season

Haaland wins the EA SPORTS award after the public vote was combined with those of the 20 club captains and a panel of football experts, beating six other nominees in De Bruyne, Harry Kane, Martin Odegaard, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka and Kieran Trippier.

2022/23 awards winners

Hublot Young Player of the Season - Erling Haaland
Oracle Most Powerful Goal - Said Benrahma
Oracle Most Improbable Comeback - Bournemouth
Barclays Manager of the Season - Pep Guardiola
Castrol Game Changer of the Season - Reiss Nelson
Castrol Save of the Season - Kepa Arrizabalaga
Budweiser Goal of the Season - Julio Enciso

Latest Videos

More Videos