Haaland makes history as Hublot Young Player of the Season

27 May 2023
Haaland, Hublot Young Player of the Season

Man City star is the first player to win the award and be named EA SPORTS Player of the Season

Related Articles
2022/23 Hublot Young Player of the Season contenders
Haaland voted 2022/23 EA SPORTS Player of the Season
Haaland's stats are best yet, but can get better

Erling Haaland has completed a Premier League awards double by being named the 2022/23 Hublot Young Player of the Season.

Haaland becomes the first player in Premier League history to win both the Hublot Young Player and EA SPORTS Player of the Season awards in the same campaign.

It comes after a record-breaking debut season for the 22-year-old striker, who has scored 36 goals in 35 appearances, the most by a player in a single campaign, helping Manchester City retain the Premier League title. 

Haaland, EA SPORTS Player and Hublot Young Player of the Season

“I am honoured to have become the first player to win both awards in the same season – thank you to everyone who voted for me," Haaland told Man City's official website.  

“It has been an incredible first season in the Premier League and lifting the Trophy last weekend in front of our fans at the Etihad was a very special moment for me.

“These awards would not have been possible without my amazing team-mates, the manager and all of the staff at the club who help me perform on the pitch. Now we have two more finals to go and we want to finish the season strong.”

See: Why Haaland can get even better

In winning the Hublot Young Player prize, Haaland makes it a third successive season in which a Man City star has claimed it. Phil Foden was the winner in each of the previous two campaigns. 

The award was introduced in 2018/19, when it was won by Trent Alexander-Arnold, and is given to the best player aged 23 or under at the start of the season.

More about the Hublot Young Player award

Haaland received the most combined votes from the public and a Premier League panel, topping an eight-man shortlist also including Sven Botman, Moises Caicedo, Alexander Isak, Alexis Mac AllisterGabriel MartinelliMartin Odegaard and Bukayo Saka.

2022/23 awards winners

EA SPORTS Player of the Season - Erling Haaland
Oracle Most Powerful Goal - Said Benrahma
Oracle Most Improbable Comeback - Bournemouth
Barclays Manager of the Season - Pep Guardiola
Castrol Game Changer of the Season - Reiss Nelson
Castrol Save of the Season - Kepa Arrizabalaga
Budweiser Goal of the Season - Julio Enciso

Latest Videos

More Videos