Premier League Logo

Awards Explained

MOnthly awards 2022-23 Player, Manager, Goal, Save, PL2

Find out how the awards for the monthly and season awards are decided

You, the public, have the chance to vote on who should win the Premier League's awards for the best players, managers and goals each month and for the season.

There are five categories for the monthly awards:

- the Premier League 2 Player
- the Castrol Save
- the Budweiser Goal
- the Barclays Manager
- the EA SPORTS Player

The Premier League 2 Player shortlist is decided by the Premier League Football Development Panel after PL2 club coaches nominate an opposing player in each of their league matches during the month. The panel then decides the winner. 

In deciding the winners of the other monthly awards, a panel of experts including Premier League legends such as Alan Shearer and Jamie Carragher cast their votes on shortlists in the three categories.

For the EA SPORTS Player award, the Premier League also asks the nominees' peers to contribute, with club captains casting votes for a winner.

Public vote

The public have the chance to play a role, too, helping to decide the winners in the categories of player, manager and goal.

The public's votes cast in each category will represent 10 per cent of the total votes and will be combined with those of the panel (and captains, for the player award).

So they could prove crucial in deciding who will receive the awards.

Season awards

For the season awards there are four additional awards:

- the Hublot Young Player of the Season
- the Castrol Game Changer of the Season
- the Oracle Most Powerful Goal
- the Oracle Most Improbable Comeback

The Hublot Young Player of the Season award is presented to the best-performing player aged 23 or younger at the start of the season.

The Game Changer award is given to the individual with the single most game-changing performance during the campaign.

These awards and the Player, Manager, Goal and Save of the Season awards all follow the same process of a combined panel and public vote to determine the winners. 

The Oracle Most Powerful Goal is awarded to the goal with the fastest average speed of all goals scored from outside the area, without a deflection off another player. It is calculated by Oracle, the Premier League's official cloud provider.

The Oracle Most Improbable Comeback is given to the team who come back to win from the most improbable circumstances, or where there was the lowest probability of victory. It is based on the Win Probability Statistic developed by Stats Perform, which calculates the chance of a team securing a win or draw by simulating the remainder of the match 100,000 times. 

The PL2 Player of the Season is decided by the Premier League Football Development Panel from its shortlist. 

When are season winners revealed?

The EA SPORTS Player of the Season and Hublot Young Player of the Season awards are announced from shortlists on or soon after the final weekend of the season.

The Barclays Manager of the Season is revealed soon after the season finishes.

The Budweiser Goal and Castrol Save of the Season are selected from a shortlist of the monthly winners, plus any outstanding strikes or saves in May. They are announced about a week after the end of the season.

This timescale is true also for Game Changer and the two Oracle awards.

Premier League Panel
Paddy Barclay Vicky Gomersall Jason Roberts
Carrie Brown Lynsey Hipgrave Mark Schwarzer
Jamie Carragher Glenn Hoddle Alex Scott
Kelly Cates Jermaine Jenas Alan Shearer
Sir Kenny Dalglish Graeme Le Saux Neil Swarbrick
Dion Dublin Hayley McQueen Andy Townsend
Rio Ferdinand Kevin Miles Ian Wright
Chris Foy Gary Neville EA representative
Shay Given Jacqui Oatley Barclays representative
Ryan Giggs Niall Quinn Budweiser representative
Awards history

The Manager of the Month award began in 1993/94, a year after the Premier League's debut season.

The Player of the Month award followed in 1994/95.

The inaugural Manager of the Month winner was Manchester United’s Sir Alex Ferguson, in August 1993. The Scot went on to win the award a record 27 times.

Tottenham Hotspur striker Jurgen Klinsmann won the maiden Player of the Month award in August 1994.

Man City's Sergio Aguero holds the record for the most awards, with seven.

See: Awards history

Premier League's Golden awards

At the end of every season there are three more Premier League awards, presented by Castrol.

The Golden Boot goes to the players to have scored the most goals in that campaign.

The Golden Glove goes to the goalkeepers to have kept the most clean sheets.

The Premier League Playmaker award is presented to the players to have provided the most assists.

See: About the Golden Boot
See: About the Golden Glove
See: About the Premier League Playmaker award