Premier League Logo
Premier League Cup

Group stage draw made for Premier League Cup

29 Aug 2018
Aston Villa win 2017/18 Premier League Cup

Holders Aston Villa to face Derby and Bristol City among eight groups of four teams for 2018/19 competition

The draw for the group stage of the 2018/19 Premier League Cup has been made.

Aston Villa, the holders after beating Swansea City in the final, will begin their defence in Group F against Derby County, Bristol City and first-time qualifiers Plymouth Argyle.

Liverpool meet West Bromwich Albion, Burnley and AFC Bournemouth in Group C.

Competition format

The draw consists of eight four-team groups, with each side playing the others home and away.

The top two from each group progress to the last 16.

All knockout ties are one-off matches to be decided by extra-time, if level after 90 minutes, and then penalties. 

Premier League 2 teams from Category One Academies are joined by teams from Categories Two, Three and Four in the competition. 

Premier League Cup group stage draw

Group A: Stoke City, Sunderland, Charlton Athletic, Peterborough United
Group B: Blackburn Rovers, Everton, Doncaster Rovers, Sheffield United
Group C: Liverpool, West Bromwich Albion, Burnley, AFC Bournemouth
Group D: Norwich City, Leicester City, Exeter City, Nottingham Forest
Group E: Wolverhampton Wanderers, Swansea City, Oxford United, Hull City
Group F: Derby County, Aston Villa, Plymouth Argyle, Bristol City
Group G: Reading, Fulham, Birmingham City, Colchester United
Group H: Southampton, Newcastle United, Leeds United, Notts County

*Updated on 5 September to reflect PL Cup qualifying results

Premier League Cup qualifiers
Wednesday, 29 August

Notts County 6-0 Newport County
Southend United 1-2 Oxford United

Thursday, 30 August

Bristol Rovers 0-1 Exeter City

Tuesday, 4 September

Plymouth Argyle 2-1 Portsmouth

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos