Premier League Logo
Fantasy Premier League

How are FPL assists awarded? Pt 2: Rebounds

12 Nov 2017
Premier League - Arsenal vs Brighton & Hove Albion

The second of a three-part series explaining Fantasy assists highlights how blocked shots can still earn points

When Fantasy Premier League managers see their players shoot, they hope for one outcome: a goal.

However, even if that shot is blocked or saved, it can still be rewarded in FPL.

In the second part of a series analysing FPL assists, we look at how shots can play their part, showing how the rules are applied.

When shots become assists

In awarding assists for a blocked shot, touches from defenders play a key role.

Players who have their shots saved, blocked by a defender or denied by the woodwork can earn an assist if the ball then falls to a team-mate to score.

Touches or deflections from an opponent before the rebound do not cancel out the assist, unless there is more than one that significantly changes the trajectory or power of the shot.

If an opponent makes a significant touch after the first initial block and before the goal is scored, no assist is awarded.

Arsenal v Brighton & Hove Albion in Gameweek 7 provided a good example.

For Nacho Monreal's opening goal, pictured above, Hector Bellerin's shot is blocked by a defender. The ball diverts to Monreal, who converts. The assist, therefore, went to Bellerin.

Monreal goal, FPL assist to Bellerin

However, it is crucial the action leading to the block or rebound is deemed a shot.

In Gameweek 5, for Steven Davis's goal for Southampton at Crystal Palace, no FPL assist was awarded because Dusan Tadic's ball into the area was recorded as a cross and not a shot.

Wayne Hennessey's touch alters the intended destination of that cross, which was identified as Shane Long or the near-post area.

Davis goal, no FPL assist
No assist/goal double

A player cannot earn an assist when scoring after their initial shot has been blocked, saved or has struck the woodwork.

Indeed, when a player scores from a second attempt, no assist is awarded to the team-mate who provided the pass or cross.

We saw this in Gameweek 11 with Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain's goal at West Ham United.

The Liverpool midfielder’s initial shot was saved by Joe Hart before he converted the rebound.

Roberto Firmino provided the pass to Oxlade-Chamberlain but was denied an assist because the scorer failed with his first attempt.

Oxlade-Chamberlain goal, no FPL assist
Also in this series 

How are FPL assists awarded? Pt 1: Final pass

How are FPL assists awarded? Pt 3: Foul Play

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos