Premier League Logo

Robson record under threat from Hodgson

15 Sep 2017
Roy Hodgson takes training at Crystal Palace

New Crystal Palace manager will be third person to take charge of a Premier League side in his 70s

Roy Hodgson's return to management in the Premier League means that a competition record of 13 years' standing is vulnerable to the new Crystal Palace boss.

At 70 years and 34 days, Hodgson's age at appointment is the highest made in Premier League history and, having signed a two-year deal, the boyhood Palace fan could become the oldest manager in the competition.

Sir Bobby Robson has held the record at 71 years and 191 days since 28 August 2004, his final match in charge at Newcastle United, against Aston Villa.

Next in line is Sir Alex Ferguson, who was 62 days younger than Robson for his final match for Manchester United in 2013.

Five oldest managers in PL history

Date of final match  Manager DOB Years Days
28/08/2004 Bobby Robson 18/02/1933 71 191
19/05/2013 Alex Ferguson  31/12/1941 71 139
15/05/2016 Guus Hiddink 11/08/1946 69 188
10/03/2015 Dick Advocaat 27/09/1947 68 6
31/01/2015 Harry Redknapp 03/02/1947 67 335

Hodgson will go third at 70 years and 38 days when he takes charge of the home match with Southampton on Saturday. Having signed a two-year deal he could overtake Robson in about March 2019.

Hodgson will be more than 25 years older than his opposite number, Mauricio Pellegrino, on Saturday. Later in the season, he is set to face to two managers, AFC Bournemouth's Eddie Howe and Marco Silva, of Watford, who were not yet born when he started out in management, at Halmstad, Sweden in 1976.

Current age of all PL managers below (as of 15 September)

PL managers Date of birth Years Days
Antonio Conte 31/07/1969 48 45
Arsene Wenger 22/10/1949 67 328
Chris Hughton 11/12/1958 58 278
Craig Shakespeare 26/10/1963 53 324
David Wagner 19/10/1971 45 331
Eddie Howe 29/11/1977 39 290
Jose Mourinho 26/01/1963 54 232
Josep Guardiola 18/01/1971 46 240
Jurgen Klopp 16/06/1967 50 91
Marco Silva 12/07/1977 40 64
Mark Hughes 01/11/1963 53 318
Mauricio Pellegrino 05/10/1971 45 345
Mauricio Pochettino 02/03/1972 45 196
Paul Clement 08/01/1972 45 250
Rafael Benitez 16/04/1960 57 151
Ronald Koeman 21/03/1963 54 178
Roy Hodgson 09/08/1947 70 37
Sean Dyche 28/06/1971 46 79
Slaven Bilic 11/09/1968 49 4
Tony Pulis 16/01/1958 59 242

Picture courtesy Crystal Palace FC

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to make our website work and improve your user experience. Essential cookies are required for the operation of our website. You may disable these but this may affect website functionality. Non-essential cookies help us improve the functionality of our website by collecting information and reporting on your use of the website as well as improving your user experience. You can manage your cookie settings and switch off non-essential cookies via the “Manage Settings” below.

Manage Settings
I accept cookies from this site