Hall of Fame

Beckham voted into Premier League Hall of Fame

20 May 2021

Man Utd legend and six-time title-winner entered into Hall of Fame by fans and League Panel

Related Articles
Beckham: Ferguson was my inspiration
Flashback: Beckham scores from own half
Win an exclusive Hall of Fame shirt with Avery Dennison

David Beckham has been confirmed as the final Premier League Hall of Fame inductee of 2021.

The former Manchester United midfielder helped the club win six Premier League titles with his unrivalled passing ability, pinpoint crosses and 18 goals from trademark free-kicks, a total to which no player has come close.

He follows Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Eric Cantona, Roy Keane, Dennis Bergkamp, Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard in receiving the League's highest individual honour.

'An honour to join these legends'

"It's an honour to be inducted into the inaugural Premier League Hall of Fame alongside these legends of the game and league," Beckham told premierleague.com.

"The Premier League was such an important part of my career and life and I'm delighted to be recognised alongside these icons who I played with, competed with and looked up to.

"This is made even more of an honour for me knowing that it was down to the fans. This past year or so has shown just how important fans are to the game and it's so great to see them slowly being able to come back to stadiums because they make football truly special.

"I've always said that throughout my playing career and beyond, I'm so lucky to have incredible fans who support me no end so thank you to everyone who voted."

Beckham's career in numbers
Category David Beckham
Appearances 265
Goals 62
Assists 80
PL titles 6
Monthly awards 1

Beckham announced himself on the Premier League stage on the opening weekend of the 1996/97 season, scoring from inside his own half for Man Utd away to Wimbledon. 

While he brought fame and glamour to the League, he was also a fearless competitor and established himself as a mainstay in Sir Alex Ferguson's Man Utd side, claiming his six titles across eight full seasons. 

Only eight players have beaten Beckham's total of 80 PL assists, while just three have surpassed his combined tally of 142 goal involvements for Man Utd in the competition.

Eligibility for Hall of Fame

To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame this year, players had to have been retired as of 1 August 2020, and only a player's Premier League career was considered in his candidacy.

Each inductee will receive a personalised medallion, engraved with the year of their induction.

Follow @premierleague and #PLHallOfFame on social media for further details and news on all the inductees.

Also in this series

Part 1: Cantona inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 2: Cantona: The others are great, I am exceptional!
Part 3: Keane voted into the Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 4: Lampard enters the Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 5: Lampard: Brace at Bolton meant everything
Part 6: Bergkamp named Premier League Hall of Fame inductee
Part 7: Bergkamp: Leicester goal went perfectly to plan
Part 8: Gerrard chosen as Premier League Hall of Fame inductee
Part 10: Beckham: Sir Alex Ferguson was my inspiration

Latest Videos

More Videos
17 Jul 2024

Watch the first FPL Podcast of 2024/25 in full

Kelly Somers, Julien Laurens and Sam Bonfield are back as they discuss their plans for the upcoming season

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

You have already entered this competition. Please check your email for further information.

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

Create a Premier League account


You are logged in as

Enter your details to submit your entry.