Premier League Logo
Hall of Fame

Bergkamp named Hall of Fame inductee

19 May 2021

Arsenal's iconic Dutchman voted into Hall of Fame for technical qualities that helped Gunners to three titles

Dennis Bergkamp is the latest former player to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame

The Dutchman joins ex-Arsenal team-mate Thierry Henry as well as Alan Shearer, Eric Cantona, Roy Keane and Frank Lampard in receiving the League's highest individual honour.

"It feels special to be part of a small group of players who got the recognition of playing in the strongest league in the world," said Bergkamp. "I’m honoured."

His arrival at Arsenal in 1995 from Inter Milan was the catalyst for a transformation of the Premier League, the playmaker adding a new level of technical ability and skill that elevated the competition and attracted other stars from overseas.

'The PL made me a better player'

"I’m extremely proud if people say that I was one of the first foreign players who added something to the English game," said Bergkamp.  

"The Premier League most definitely made me a better player. From the moment I arrived in England I’ve embraced the English mentality and passion for football, it suited me and my style of play.

"Playing every game against good and tough opponents meant I improved all the time. I’ve enjoyed every minute of it."

Bergkamp's career in numbers
Category Dennis Bergkamp
Appearances 315
Goals 87
Assists 94
PL titles 3
Monthly awards 4

The forward's direct involvement in 181 Premier League goals for Arsenal is second only to the 249 of Henry.

He was the first Dutch player to score a hat-trick in the competition with a memorable treble at Leicester City in August 1997.

Two years later he set another PL record with four assists in a 5-0 win over Leicester, a record that has not been beaten.

His magnificent turn and finish at Newcastle United in 2002 was voted by fans as the best goal in the Premier League's first 25 years.

Bergkamp is one of six players from a 23-man shortlist inducted into the Hall of Fame after receiving the most combined votes from the public and the Premier League Panel.

Eligibility for Hall of Fame

To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame this year, players had to have been retired as of 1 August 2020, and only a player’s Premier League career was considered in his candidacy.

Each inductee will receive a personalised medallion, engraved with the year of their induction.

Follow @premierleague and #PLHallOfFame on social media for further details and news of the final two inductees for 2021.

Also in this series

Part 1: Cantona inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 2: Cantona: The others are great, I am exceptional!
Part 3: Keane voted into the Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 4: Lampard enters the Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 5: Lampard: Brace at Bolton meant everything
Part 7: Bergkamp: Leicester goal went perfectly to plan
Part 8: Gerrard chosen as Premier League Hall of Fame inductee
Part 9: Beckham voted into Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 10: Beckham: Ferguson was my inspiration

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos