Hall of Fame

Lampard enters Premier League Hall of Fame

19 May 2021

Chelsea legend gets the League's highest individual honour after 177 goals and three titles

Related Articles
Wright: I've not seen a harder worker than Lampard
Win an exclusive Hall of Fame shirt with Avery Dennison
Keane voted into the Premier League Hall of Fame

Frank Lampard is the latest former player to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The three-time Premier League champion scored 177 goals during his time at West Ham United, Chelsea and Manchester City, the most by any midfielder in the competition's history.

Lampard joins Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Eric Cantona and Roy Keane as an inductee, receiving the League's highest individual honour. 

"As a young lad I remember just wanting to make it in to the West Ham team, and looking up to players like Roy Keane, Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry so to be mentioned in the same bracket as them is a real honour," Lampard said. "I am very proud and thankful for the recognition.

"The key for me was practice and hard work. I had a talent for arriving and scoring goals. I had done it in all the teams that I played for but to score consistently over that period in the Premier League was mostly down to my hard work and dedication to constantly improve."

Lampard's career in numbers
Category Frank Lampard
Appearances 609
Goals 177
Assists 102
PL titles 3
Monthly awards 4
Season awards 1

One of the competition’s most complete midfielders, Lampard was named Premier League Player of the Season for 2004/05.

He became Chelsea’s all-time leading goalscorer during his career and also surpassed a century of assists in the Premier League.

Only four players have scored more PL goals than Lampard, who also netted against 39 different opponents in the competition, more than any other player.

Lampard was renowned for his stunning long-range goals, and he holds the PL record for the most scored from outside the penalty area, with 41.

He is one of the six players of a 23-man shortlist to receive the most combined votes from the public and the Premier League panel.

Three further inductees will be announced over the next couple of days on the Premier League's digital channels. 

Eligibility for Hall of Fame

To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame this year, players had to have been retired as of 1 August 2020, and only a player’s Premier League career was considered in his candidacy.

Each inductee will receive a personalised medallion, engraved with the year of their induction.

Follow @premierleague and #PLHallOfFame on social media for further details and news of the next three inductees.

Also in this series

Part 1: Cantona inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 2: Cantona: The others are great, I am exceptional!
Part 3: Keane voted into the Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 5: Lampard: Brace at Bolton meant everything
Part 6: Bergkamp named Premier League Hall of Fame inductee
Part 7: Bergkamp: Leicester goal went perfectly to plan
Part 8: Gerrard chosen as Premier League Hall of Fame inductee
Part 9: Beckham voted into Premier League Hall of Fame
Part 10: Beckham: Ferguson was my inspiration

Latest Videos

More Videos