Premier League Logo

U18 Premier League Cup: Format explained

1 Jan 2021
Man City win 2019/20 U18 Premier League Cup

Man City have won the knockout competition in two of the three seasons since its introduction in 2017/18

Introduced from the 2017/18 season, the Under-18 Premier League Cup adds the extra competitive edge of knockout football to complement the U18 Premier League schedule.

The U18 Premier League Cup is split into six groups of four teams, with clubs playing each other once in the group stage, either home or away.

The six group winners and the two best runners-up, decided by total points and then goal difference followed by head-to-head record, will advance to the quarter-finals.

Knockout ties are all one-off matches, decided by extra-time if level after 90 minutes and then penalties if required.

The U18 Premier League Cup group stage draw will be mirrored by the Under-16 Premier League Cup, another competition in its debut season, before the knockout rounds are dependent on finishing position within each age category.

The U16 matches will be played on the same dates as the U18 Premier League Cup fixtures, subject to change.

U18 PL Cup champions

2019/20: Manchester City
2018/19: Manchester City
2017/18: Chelsea

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to make our website work and improve your user experience. Essential cookies are required for the operation of our website. You may disable these but this may affect website functionality. Non-essential cookies help us improve the functionality of our website by collecting information and reporting on your use of the website as well as improving your user experience. You can manage your cookie settings and switch off non-essential cookies via the “Manage Settings” below.

Manage Settings
I accept cookies from this site