Premier League Logo

U16 Premier League Cup: Format explained

1 Jan 2021
Chelsea U16 PL Cup champions

Introduced in 2017/18, knockout tournament is first competitive cup in U16 Games Programme at Academies

The Under-16 Premier League Cup introduces a competitive, season-long tournament at U16 level to the Games Programme for the first time.

Brought in from the 2017/18 season, The U16 Premier League Cup consists of Category One and Category Two clubs.

Mirroring the format of the Under-18 Premier League Cup and Under-17 Premier League Cup, the U16 competition is split into seven groups of four teams.

Clubs play each other once, home or away. The seven group winners and best runner-up, decided by total points and then goal difference and head-to-head record, will advance to the quarter-finals.

Knockout ties are one-off matches decided by extra-time, and then penalties if needed, if it is level after 90 minutes.

Winners of the U16 Premier League Cup

2020/21: N/A**
2019/20: N/A*
2018/19: Chelsea
2017/18: Manchester City
*Competition did not finish due to curtailment of season
**Competition didn't take place in 2020/21

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos