Premier League Logo

Under-18 Premier League: Format explained

1 Jan 2021
Manchester City win the U18 Premier League title

Category One Academies compete in two regional divisions, with a national final determining the overall champion

The Under-18 Premier League replaced the Premier Academy League at the start of the 2012/13 season with the aim to enhance youth development and help transition players between the Academy and first team.

The 28-team league is split into North and South Groups, and the two regional division champions will play in a national final for the U18 Premier League title. The one-off tie will be held at a main stadium. 

The 2021/22 U18 Premier League will take place under the following criteria:

  • In total, 28 clubs compete, with each of the clubs having applied for Category One status. There are 18 clubs from the Premier League, nine from the Championship and one from League One.
  • The 28 clubs are split into two regional groups, the North Group and the South Group.
  • Clubs will play each opposing team in their regional group twice, home and away.
  • For the overall title, the North Group and South Group winners will play in a one-off national final at a main stadium.

Age requirement:

  • Clubs are not allowed to field any outfield players outside the Under-18 age category. However, the goalkeeper is permitted to come from the Under-19 age category.
Past Under-18 Premier League winners

2020/21: Manchester City
2019/20: N/A*
2018/19: Derby County
2017/18: Chelsea
2016/17: Chelsea
2015/16: Manchester City
2014/15: Middlesbrough
2013/14: Everton
2012/13: Fulham
*National final did not finish due to curtailment of season

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to make our website work and improve your user experience. Essential cookies are required for the operation of our website. You may disable these but this may affect website functionality. Non-essential cookies help us improve the functionality of our website by collecting information and reporting on your use of the website as well as improving your user experience. You can manage your cookie settings and switch off non-essential cookies via the “Manage Settings” below.

Manage Settings
I accept cookies from this site