Premier League Logo

Premier League welcomes new clubs for 2017/18

7 Jun 2017
Newcastle fans celebrate

Presence of Newcastle, Brighton and Huddersfield to be confirmed as new campaign officially begins today

Today is the day when fans of Newcastle United, Brighton & Hove Albion and Huddersfield Town can officially say, "We are Premier League."

When the League’s Annual General Meeting convenes shortly the Premier League season will change from 2016/17 to 2017/18.

Here we explain the procedure by which this happens.

The three clubs relegated from the Premier League in 2016/17, Hull City, Middlesbrough and Sunderland, must first transfer back their share certificates that gave them Premier League status.

Huddersfield Town celebrate their play-off win
Play-off winners Huddersfield Town will be confirmed as a Premier League club on 8 June

The Premier League Board of Directors will then confirm the cancellation of these shares.

A new share certificate for each of the promoted clubs will then be signed by the Premier League directors and company secretary and the three clubs entered into the share register, as required under company law.

The confirmation of the three promoted clubs as members of the Premier League will then be made at the AGM, when the League will formally welcome them and they will be awarded their framed share certificates.

Anthony Knockaert, Brighton
Brighton can officially say they're a Premier League club when the AGM takes place

Newcastle, Brighton and Huddersfield, as well as the 17 other clubs, can then look forward to the release of the fixtures for the 2017/18 season on 14 June to see against whom they will open their Premier League campaign.  

See: How the Premier League is organised

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos