Premier League Logo

Hublot Young Player of the Season award

1 Sep 2021
Haaland and Foden, Hublot Young Player awards

Find out about the prize given to the best player aged 23 or younger at the start of the campaign

Since 2019/20, the Premier League has been recognising the best of its rising stars with the Young Player of the Season award.

This is presented at the end of the campaign to the best-performing player who was aged 23 or younger at the start of the season.

The award follows the same process as for the other season awards for best player, manager and goal, with a combined panel and public vote determining the winners.

See: How Premier League's awards work

In its inaugural campaign, the Young Player award was sponsored by TAG Heuer and was won by Liverpool's Trent Alexander-Arnold.

Since 2020/21 it been sponsored by Hublot, the official timekeepers of the Premier League. Manchester City's Phil Foden won it in 2020/21 and 2021/22

The current holder of the award is Erling Haaland, who won it in 2022/23 after breaking the Premier League record for most goals scored in a single season. 

Young Player award winners

Season Winner Club
2019/20 Trent Alexander-Arnold Liverpool
2020/21 Phil Foden Man City
2021/22 Phil Foden Man City
2022/23 Erling Haaland Man City

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos