Premier League Logo

Man City's Borges named PL2 Player of the Season

23 May 2023
PL2 POTS winner

Teenage striker claims award after scoring 21 goals to help champions claim third successive PL2 title

Manchester City’s Under-21 forward Carlos Borges has been named the Premier League 2 Player of the Season for 2022/23. 

Borges, 19, was the leading scorer in PL2 Division 1 and his 21 goals helped defending champions Man City to a record third consecutive title.

"I'm really proud and honoured to win this award as the level of quality in Premier League 2 is so high," Borges said on City's official website.

"It has been a fantastic season for us as a squad and every single one of the guys has played a big part in our success and they are great to play alongside."

See: Carlos Borges' player profile (Man City)

The Portugal U19 international also produced nine assists in a sparkling campaign.

Borges, who took the February 2023 PL2 Player of the Month award, has been delighted with City's record-breaking season.

Feeling honoured

"It makes me proud," he told the club's official website after winning the title. "We're part of the history books. Now, it's about keeping going and doing it again next season. It's a top feeling."

In what was a memorable campaign, key personal highlights included a four-goal display as City thumped rivals Manchester United U21s by a 6-1 scoreline, plus a hat-trick in the UEFA Youth League against Sevilla.

Man City have now provided three consecutive winners of the coveted award, with Borges following in the footsteps of last season's winner James McAtee and Liam Delap, who claimed the accolade in 2020/21.

Borges was selected by a panel of the Premier League Football Development Department ahead of seven other nominees: Dominic Ballard (Southampton), Oscar Bobb (Man City), Reyes Cleary (West Bromwich Albion), Mateo Joseph Fernandez (Leeds United), Alfie Gilchrist (Chelsea), Adedire Mebude (Man City) and Jack Wells-Morrison (Crystal Palace).

Past winners

2021/22: James McAtee (Man City)
2020/21: Liam Delap (Man City)
2019/20: Curtis Jones (Liverpool)
2018/19: Aaron Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion)
2017/18: Reiss Nelson (Arsenal)
2016/17: Oliver McBurnie (Swansea City)

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos