Curtis Jones named 2019/20 PL2 Player of the Season

16 Aug 2020

Liverpool Academy graduate honoured after enjoying dream breakthrough campaign for first team and starring at Under-23 level

Related Articles
'I'm buzzing' - Curtis Jones on winning PL2 Player of the Season award External Link
Nominees for PL2 Player of the Season award
2018/19 PL2 Player of the Season: Aaron Connolly

Liverpool midfielder Curtis Jones has been named the Premier League 2 Player of the Season for 2019/20.

The 19-year-old Merseysider enjoyed a dream breakthrough campaign in the Premier League, as well as starring at Under-23 level. 

Jones made his Premier League debut against AFC Bournemouth in December 2019, one of six appearances in the competition, ensuring he picked up a medal for winning the title. 

He also scored his first goal for Liverpool in sensational style to clinch a 1-0 win over Everton in the FA Cup, before opening his Premier League account with a strike against Aston Villa earlier this month.

PL2 exploits

On top of that, he scored nine goals in Premier League 2 Division 1, one fewer than leading scorers Folarin Balogun and Jahmal Hector-Ingram, who are both forwards, and registered four assists.

Speaking after receiving the award, Jones, who recently signed a long-term contract with the champions, was quick to thank those who have helped get him where he is now.

"I have to give a massive thank you to the staff that were there," Jones said. "In the Under-23s, Critch [Neil Critchley] and Jenks [Tim Jenkins], and Barry [Lewtas] with the Under-19s.

"And of course the team that I was playing with, I have to give them credit as well. I'm buzzing."

Jones was selected by a panel of the Premier League Football Development Department ahead of five other nominees: Liam Cullen (Swansea City), Billy Gilmour (Chelsea), Hector-Ingram (Derby County), Nathan Holland (West Ham United) and Rayhaan Tulloch (West Bromwich Albion).

Past winners

He follows in the footsteps of 2018/19 PL2 Player of the Season Aaron Connolly, of Brighton & Hove Albion. The previous winners were Arsenal's Reiss Nelson in 2017/18 and Oliver McBurnie, now of Sheffield United, in 2016/17 with Swansea.

More Academy award winners

Part 2: Rashford wins Academy Graduate award
Part 3: Best U18 and U23 goals and saves of the season
Part 4: Loftus-Cheek: Chelsea Academy in safe hands with Bath

Latest Videos

More Videos
17 Jul 2024

Watch the first FPL Podcast of 2024/25 in full

Kelly Somers, Julien Laurens and Sam Bonfield are back as they discuss their plans for the upcoming season

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

You have already entered this competition. Please check your email for further information.

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

Create a Premier League account


You are logged in as

Enter your details to submit your entry.