Premier League Cup

Holders West Ham to face Leicester in PL Cup

6 Sep 2016
West Ham celebrate winning 2015/16 Under-21 Premier League Cup

View the full group stage draw for the new 32-team competition

Defending champions West Ham United will meet Leicester City in the group stage of the Premier League Cup.

The Hammers won the 2015/16 competition, then known as the Under-21 Premier League Cup, after beating Hull City on penalties at the KCOM Stadium.  

They meet Leicester, Brighton & Hove Albion and Nottingham Forest in Group E, in a competition that pits Premier League 2 sides against Category Two and Three clubs who contest lower-tier leagues.

The top two teams in the eight groups reach the last 16, and that round along with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will all be one-off knockout ties. They go to extra-time and penalties if the teams cannot be separated.

Like Premier League 2, clubs are allowed to field players under the age of 23, or born before 1 January 1993. Each team can select three over-age outfield players and an overage goalkeeper.

Dates and venues for matches within the group stages will follow in due course.

Premier League Cup group stage draw

Group A
Southampton, Newcastle United, Swansea City, Bristol City

Group B
Sunderland, Cardiff City, Blackburn Rovers, Burnley or Watford*

Group C
Manchester City, Colchester United, Derby County, Hull City

Group D
Everton, Norwich City, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Portsmouth or Barnsley*

Group E
Leicester City, Brighton & Hove Albion, West Ham United, Nottingham Forest

Group F
Middlesbrough, Charlton Athletic, Fulham, AFC Wimbledon

Group G
Liverpool, Huddersfield Town, West Bromwich Albion, Ipswich Town

Group H
Reading, Sheffield United, Stoke City, Birmingham City

*Burnley host Watford and Portsmouth face Barnsley in the Premier League Cup Qualifying Round on 12 September


Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos