Premier League Academies learn Checkatrade groups

12 Jul 2017
Spurs v Man City, PL2

Find out which League One and Two clubs the young players for 16 Category One sides will face in 2017/18

Related Articles
'Checkatrade Trophy puts players in shop window'
EFL Trophy explained
Hammers go west in Checkatrade Trophy External Link

The draw for the group stages of the 2017/18 Checkatrade Trophy has been made.

Sixteen Premier League clubs with Category One Academy status will field teams with mostly under-21 players against 48 clubs from League One and League Two.

Teams face each other once, with the invited Cat One teams playing all their matches away, and the top two sides proceed to a regional round of 32.

Only at the quarter-finals does the competition become national. 

The group stage fixtures will be confirmed shortly.

Full draw  Northern section

Group A Carlisle, Fleetwood, Morecambe, Leicester City
Group B
 Accrington Blackpool, Wigan, Middlesbrough
Group C Blackburn, Bury, Rochdale, Stoke City 
Group D: Crewe, Oldham, Port Vale, Newcastle 
Group E
 Coventry, Shrewsbury, Walsall, West Brom 
Group F
 Bradford, Chesterfield, Rotherham, Man City 
Group G Lincoln, Mansfield, Notts County, Everton 
Group H Doncaster, Grimsby, Scunthorpe, Sunderland 

Southern Section

Group A Charlton, Crawley, Portsmouth, Fulham 
Group B
 Colchester, Gillingham, Southend, Reading 
Group C: Bristol Rovers, Swindon, Wycombe, West Ham 
Group D: Exeter, Plymouth, Yeovil, Chelsea 
Group E: Cheltenham, Forest Green, Newport, Swansea City 
Group F: AFC Wimbledon, Barnet, Luton, Spurs 
Group G: MK Dons, Oxford, Stevenage, Brighton 
Group H: Cambridge, Northampton, Peterborough, Southampton 

See: Checkatrade Trophy format explained

Latest Videos

More Videos