Draw for 2023/24 Premier League Cup announced

9 Aug 2023
Premier League Cup trophy Brentford

Holders Brentford paired with Burnley, Fulham and Leicester in 32-team Academy tournament

Related Articles
City begin PL2 title defence against Spurs as fixtures are released
Man City to start Under-18 title defence against Blackburn
Best U18 and U21 goals and saves of the season

The draw for the Premier League Cup has been announced with Brentford put into the same group as Burnley, Fulham and Leicester City.

The Premier League Cup was introduced in 2013/14 to enhance the competitiveness of the Professional Development Phase calendar with knockout football alongside the regular league campaign.

The competition is in the UEFA Champions League style, with 32 clubs in the main group stage from Premier League 2 as well as the Professional Development League.

Like Premier League 2, it will be contested between Under-21 teams, with each side allowed four over-age outfield players and one over-age goalkeeper.

Competition format

- Group stage The tournament will be split into eight groups of four clubs, with each team playing their opposing clubs home and away. The top two teams advance to the knockout stage.
- Knockout stage The last 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will all be one-off knockout ties. If the ties are level after 90 minutes, they go to extra-time and then penalties if the teams still can't be separated. 

See: Premier League Cup: Format explained

Group A Group B
Aston Villa Blackburn
Brighton Reading
Hull Sheffield United
Swansea West Brom
Group C Group D
AFC Bournemouth Chelsea
Charlton Athletic Colchester United
Norwich City Leeds United
Wolves Luton Town
Group E Group F
Bristol City Fleetwood Town
Peterborough United Huddersfield
Sunderland Newcastle
Spurs Nottingham Forest
Group G Group H
Brentford Birmingham
Burnley Crystal Palace
Fulham Ipswich Town
Leicester Middlesbrough

Match round 1: 11-20 Sep
Match round 2: 6-9 Oct
Match round 3: 10-13 Nov
Match round 4: 8-11 Dec
Match round 5: 19-22 Jan
Match round 6: 2-5 Feb

Past Premier League Cup winners

2022/23 Brentford
2021/22 West Brom
2020/21 N/A*
2019/20 N/A**
2018/19 Everton
2017/18 Aston Villa
2016/17 Swansea City
2015/16 West Ham United
2014/15 Southampton
2013/14 Reading

*Competition did not take place
**Competition did not finish due to curtailment of season

Latest Videos

More Videos

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

You have already entered this competition. Please check your email for further information.

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

Create a Premier League account


You are logged in as

Enter your details to submit your entry.