Haaland claims 2022/23 Golden Boot

28 May 2023
Erling Haaland, MCI

Man City striker wins award after a record-breaking campaign with 36 goals scored

Related Articles
Haaland: I'm honoured to make awards history
Premier League Golden Boot award winners
Erling Haaland's BEST goals in record-breaking season

The Castrol Golden Boot award has been awarded to Erling Haaland after a 2022/23 season in which he tore up several Premier League records.

The Manchester City striker was an unused substitute in City's 1-0 defeat at Brentford on the final day, but he ended the season on 36 goals.

This surpassed the feats of Andrew Cole and Alan Shearer, who had set the record with 34 each in 1993/94 and 1994/95 respectively, and both in 42-match campaigns.

Most goals in a PL season 
Player Season Appearances Goals
Erling Haaland (MCI) 2022/23 35 36
Andrew Cole (NEW) 1993/94 40 34
Alan Shearer (BLB) 1994/95 42 34
Mohamed Salah (LIV) 2017/18 36 32
Alan Shearer (BLB) 1993/94 40 31
Alan Shearer (BLB) 1995/96 35 31
Cristiano Ronaldo (MUN) 2007/08 34 31
Luis Suarez (LIV) 2013/14 33 31

Haaland becomes just the third Man City player to win the coveted award, following in the footsteps of Carlos Tevez in 2010/11 and Sergio Aguero in 2014/15.

Haaland finished six goals ahead of Harry Kane, the Tottenham Hotspur striker, whose tally of 30 strikes would have won the Golden Boot in all but four of the previous 38-match seasons. 

See: Every single Golden Boot winner

Also in this series 

See: De Bruyne wins Playmaker of the Season award

Latest Videos

More Videos