De Gea wins at least a share of Golden Glove award

13 May 2023
Premier League - Manchester United v Wolverhampton Wanderers

Man Utd goalkeeper keeps 16th clean sheet of campaign in 2-0 win over Wolves

Related Articles
Premier League Golden Glove award winners
De Gea to at least share Premier League Golden Glove External Link
Goals galore as 1,000th is scored in record time

A clean sheet for David De Gea in Manchester United's 2-0 win over Wolverhampton Wanderers has given the goalkeeper at least a share of the 2022/23 Castrol Golden Glove award

De Gea kept his 16th clean sheet of the season, two clear of Alisson and three ahead of Nick Pope and Aaron Ramsdale, following the weekend's action. 

Golden Glove race
Goalkeeper Clean sheets Remaining matches
De Gea 16 BOU (A), CHE (H), FUL (H)
Alisson 14 AVL (H), SOU (A)
Pope 13 BHA (H), LEI (H), CHE (A)

It gives De Gea his second Golden Glove award, last winning it in 2017/18, ending a four-season dominance of two Brazilian goalkeepers, Alisson and Ederson

While Alisson and Pope will still hope to reach 16 clean sheets, De Gea can guarantee he wins the award outright if he does not concede a goal in his next match, at AFC Bournemouth on Saturday.

Winners of the Golden Glove
Season Player Club Clean sheets
2004/05 Petr Cech CHE 24
2005/06 Pepe Reina LIV 20
2006/07 Pepe Reina LIV 19
2007/08 Pepe Reina LIV 18
2008/09  Edwin van der Sar MUN 21
2009/10 Petr Cech CHE 17
2010/11 Joe Hart MCI 18
2011/12 Joe Hart MCI 17
2012/13 Joe Hart MCI 18
2013/14 Petr Cech CHE 16
Wojciech Szczesny ARS 16
2014/15 Joe Hart MCI 14
2015/16 Petr Cech ARS 16
2016/17 Thibaut Courtois CHE 16
2017/18 David De Gea MUN 18
2018/19 Alisson LIV 21
2019/20 Ederson MCI 16
2020/21 Ederson MCI 19
2021/22 Alisson LIV 20
Ederson MCI 20
2022/23* David De Gea** MUN 16

* Season ongoing
** Guaranteed at least a share of award

Latest Videos

More Videos