How the Premier League's Oracle awards work

3 May 2024
Oracle Awards with colour

Find out how the Most Improbable Comeback and Most Powerful Goal powered by Oracle are decided

Related Articles
Bournemouth win Oracle Most Improbable Comeback award
Diaby wins Oracle Most Powerful Goal award

Thunderbolt goals and the uncertainty of not knowing how a match will unfold are two of the key ingredients that make the Premier League so enjoyable to millions of fans around the world.  

So, we will celebrate these elements with two awards powered by Oracle, the Premier League’s official cloud supplier.  

Oracle uses advanced performance data and machine learning to deliver real-time in-match statistics, providing a deeper understanding of the live action to a huge global audience.

Most Improbable Comeback

The Most Improbable Comeback award is based on Win Probability Statistic developed by Stats Perform, which calculates the chance of a team securing a win or draw by simulating the remainder of the match 100,000 times.  

The model is based on four years of match data and takes into account if a team are home or away, the current score, penalties awarded, players on the pitch, red cards and time left in the match. 

The probability of a win is calculated every minute for every Premier League match in a season, in real-time. 

The winner of this award will go to the team that came back to win from the most improbable circumstances, or where there was the highest probability of defeat.

Who has won the award?

Tottenham Hotspur's unbelievable 3-2 win at Leicester City in January 2022 claimed the inaugural award.

AFC Bournemouth's sensational 3-2 victory over Nottingham Forest at the City Ground on 3 September 2022 claimed the prize in 2022/23.

Bournemouth won the award again in 2023/24 for their 4-3 turnaround win over Luton Town in which they battled back from 3-0 down. 

Every Most Improbable Comeback winner
Season Winner Match
2021/22 Spurs Leicester 2-3 Spurs
2022/23 Bournemouth Nott'm Forest 2-3 Bournemouth
2023/24 Bournemouth Bournemouth 4-3 Luton
Most Powerful Goal 

The Most Powerful Goal award will be awarded to the goal scored in the Premier League this season that carries the fastest average speed from the ball being struck to crossing the goalline.

Only goals scored from outside the area, without a deflection off another player, will be considered for the award.

Who has won the award?

Fernandinho claimed the inaugural award in 2021/22 with a goal that clocked 117.6km/h.

Said Benrahma won it in 2022/23 for his 107.17km/h hit against Crystal Palace.

The current holder of the award is Moussa Diaby, whose goal for Aston Villa against Wolverhampton Wanderers registered 109.84km/h.

Every Most Powerful Goal winner
Season Winner Club
2021/22 Fernandinho Manchester City
2022/23 Said Benrahma West Ham United
2023/24 Moussa Diaby Aston Villa

Latest Videos

More Videos

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

You have already entered this competition. Please check your email for further information.

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

Create a Premier League account


You are logged in as

Enter your details to submit your entry.