Golden Boot: Can Son or Ronaldo catch Salah?

27 Apr 2022

We look at the contenders to be crowned top scorer, as Liverpool star targets award for a third time

Related Articles
Premier League Golden Boot award winners
Playmaker award: Salah assist spree puts him top

Mohamed Salah remains in pole position for the 2021/22 Castrol Golden Boot award, but his pursuers have been closing the gap.

It leaves the Liverpool star defending a five-goal lead with four matches remaining.

Golden Boot contenders
Player Goals Fixtures
Salah 22 TOT (H), AVL (A), SOU (A), WOL (H)
Ronaldo 17 BRE (H), BHA (A), CRY (A)
Son 17 LEI (H), LIV (A), ARS (H), BUR (H), NOR (A)
Jota 15 TOT (H), AVL (A), WOL (H), SOU (A) 
Mane 14 TOT (H), AVL (A), SOU (A), WOL (H) 

Since scoring Liverpool's 2,000th Premier League goal against Brighton & Hove Albion on 12 March, Salah has netted just twice, both coming in a 4-0 success over Manchester United.

In that same period Son Heung-min has struck six times for Tottenham Hotspur, and the South Korean has five matches left, more than his rivals for the Golden Boot.

TV Info

Son will look to close the gap further over his next three outings, starting against Leicester City on Sunday, and then finish with a flourish against two of the bottom four clubs: Burnley and Norwich City.

Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo is in the best form of the leading contenders, scoring eight times since mid-March.

He has netted seven goals in his last three home matches, including two hat-tricks, to move joint-second in the top scorers' list.

The Portuguese will aim to maintain his superb Old Trafford form when Brentford visit on Monday. But he has fewer matches remaining than both Salah and Son.

Elite company

Salah won the Golden Boot outright in 2017/18 before sharing the award the following season.

He has already matched his 22-goal total from 2018/19 and only needs one more strike to match the winning tally for the last two campaigns.

Salah could also become only the fourth player to win the Golden Boot for a third time, after Premier League Hall of Fame inductees Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry, and the current holder Harry Kane.

Last five Golden Boot winners
Season Player Goals
2016/17 Kane 29
2017/18  Salah 32
2018/19 Aubameyang
2019/20 Vardy 23
2020/21 Kane 23

See: All the Golden Boot winners

Also in this series

Part 2: Playmaker award: Salah assist spree puts him top

Latest Videos

More Videos