Premier League Logo

Man City confirmed as PL2 champions

19 Apr 2021
Man City PL2

Club win Division 1 title for first time after nearest challengers Blackburn fail to beat Liverpool

Manchester City have been confirmed as Premier League 2 champions for the first time in their history.

They have won the Division 1 title after their nearest challengers, Blackburn Rovers, could only manage a 2-2 draw against Liverpool on Monday night. 

It means with three matches remaining Man City are 10 points clear. 

“It’s a fantastic achievement, especially in the way we achieved it, and I am very proud of the players and the staff and I want to thank them all,” head coach Enzo Maresca told the club's official website

“It’s the first time that the club have won it. I think we deserve it and it has shown how all the lads have given everything this season. For me it’s been a lovely season, a beautiful season."

Man City have scored a remarkable 68 goals in their 21 matches to date, 21 more than any other team. 

They also boast the second-best defensive record, having conceded only 28 times ahead of their next match, at West Ham United on Friday.

Premier League 2 Division 1 winners

2020/21 Man City
2018/19 Everton
 Manchester United
2014/15 Manchester United
2013/14 Chelsea
2012/13 Manchester United

City's title win comes just days after Leeds United were confirmed as winners of Division 2. 

See: Leeds seal PL2 Division 2 title and promotion

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to make our website work and improve your user experience. Essential cookies are required for the operation of our website. You may disable these but this may affect website functionality. Non-essential cookies help us improve the functionality of our website by collecting information and reporting on your use of the website as well as improving your user experience. You can manage your cookie settings and switch off non-essential cookies via the “Manage Settings” below.

Manage Settings
I accept cookies from this site