Premier League Logo

Klopp earns 2019/20 Barclays Manager of the Season award

16 Aug 2020

Liverpool manager recognised for leading the club to their first-ever Premier League title and a total of 99 points

Jurgen Klopp has won the 2019/20 Barclays Manager of the Season award after guiding Liverpool to their first top-flight title in 30 years. 

Klopp is the first German to win the award after a record-breaking campaign in which the Reds amassed 99 points.

The 53-year-old won the Manager of the Month prize an unprecedented five times last season, surpassing Pep Guardiola's four from 2017/18.

Liverpool equalled a number of records last term, including winning 18 successive matches, claiming 32 victories overall and amassing 55 points from a possible 57 at home.

Klopp beat fellow nominees Frank Lampard, Brendan Rodgers and Chris Wilder after votes from the public were combined with those of a panel of football experts to decide the winner. 

He becomes the third 2019/20 season awards winner from Liverpool, after Trent Alexander-Arnold received the TAG Heuer Young Player of the Season award and Curtis Jones was named Premier League 2 Player of the Season.

See: This season's player awards

More on Klopp's award win

Part 2: Hoddle: Barclays award winner Klopp a master tactician

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos