Premier League Logo

Premier League welcomes new clubs for 2020/21

6 Aug 2020
Leeds, West Brom and Fulham, promoted clubs for 2020/21

The new campaign officially begins as promoted Leeds United, West Bromwich Albion and Fulham are confirmed as PL clubs

Supporters of the three promoted clubs - Leeds United, West Bromwich Albion and Fulham - can now officially say that their teams are in the Premier League.

On Thursday the Premier League's Annual General Meeting convenes, and it is at the AGM that the season officially changes from 2019/20 to 2020/21.

What this means

The three clubs who were relegated in 2019/20 - AFC BournemouthWatford and Norwich City - transfer back the share certificates that gave them Premier League status.

The Premier League Board of Directors then confirm the cancellation of these shares.

A new share certificate for each of the promoted clubs is signed by the Premier League directors and company secretary. As required under company law, the three clubs then enter into the share register.

As a result the confirmation of the three promoted clubs as members of the Premier League is made at the AGM, with the League formally welcoming them as they are awarded their framed share certificates.

New-look table

To mark the changing over to the new season, the Premier League website and app also receives a visual refresh.

One aspect of this is the resetting of the Premier League table with the 20 clubs sorted in alphabetical order, from Arsenal to Wolverhampton Wanderers

The profiles in the clubs section of the site, and links to club websites and social media platforms will also be updated to reflect the 2020/21 line-up. 

Leeds, West Brom, Fulham and the 17 other clubs can then look forward to the release of the fixtures for 2020/21, which kicks off on the weekend of 12 September. 

See: How the Premier League is organised

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos