Premier League Logo
Premier League Cup

Group stage drawn for Premier League Cup

5 Sep 2019
Morgan Feeney lifts Premier League Cup for Everton

Holders Everton to face Fulham, Watford and the winners of Plymouth's qualifying tie with Yeovil in Group B

The group stage for the 2019/20 Premier League Cup has been drawn. 

Holders Everton will take on Fulham and Watford in Group B, along the winner of the Plymouth Argyle v Yeovil Town qualifying tie.

Liverpool will face Sunderland, Wigan Athletic and the victors of Huddersfield Town's qualifier against Oxford United in Group F. 

AFC Bournemouth have drawn south-coast rivals Southampton in Group E and Burnley face a "Cotton Mill derby" with Blackburn Rovers in Group G. 

How it works

There are eight four-team groups, with Category Three and Category Four Academies qualifying to face Premier League, Category One and Category Two Academy sides.

In the group stage each side play the other home and away, with the top two progressing to the quarter-finals.

2019/20 PL Cup groups

Group A
Charlton Athletic, Colchester United, Reading, Swansea City

Group B
Everton, Fulham, Plymouth Argyle/Yeovil Town, Watford

Group C
Hull City, Newcastle United, Southend/Scunthorpe United, West Bromwich Albion

Group D
Aston Villa, Cambridge United/Exeter City, Doncaster Rovers, Portsmouth

Group E
AFC Bournemouth, Nottingham Forest, Southampton, Stoke City

Group F
Huddersfield Town/Oxford United, Liverpool, Sunderland, Wigan Athletic

Group G
Blackburn Rovers, Burnley, Crystal Palace, Middlesbrough

Group H
Birmingham City, Derby County, Leeds United, Wolverhampton Wanderers

Qualfying matches

Monday 9 September
Huddersfield Town v Oxford United

Tuesday 10 September
Cambridge United v Exeter City
Southend v Scunthorpe United

Thursday 12 September
Plymouth Argyle v Yeovil Town

See: PL Cup format explained

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos