Awards Explained

Premier League Awards

Find out how the player, manager and goal of the month awards are decided

The Premier League's awards for the best players, managers and goals have a new look and, you, the public, have the chance to vote on who should win.

In deciding the winners, a panel of experts (see below) including Premier League legends such as Sir Alex Ferguson, Alan Shearer and Jamie Carragher cast their votes in all three categories: Barclays Manager of the Month; EA SPORTS Player of the Month; and the Carling Goal of the Month.

For the player award, for the first time, the Premier League has also called on the nominees' peers to contribute, with the club captains casting votes for a winner. 

The public have the chance to play a role, too, helping to decide the winners in each category.

Votes made on the Barclays Football Facebook page for the manager award, EA SPORTS for the player honour and via the Carling Tap app and website for the best goal will contribute towards deciding who will lift the awards.

The public's votes cast in each category will represent 10% of the total votes and will be combined with those of the panel (and captains, for the player award), and so could prove crucial in deciding who will receive the awards.

Premier League Panel

Sir Alex Ferguson Lynsey Hipgrave Graeme Le Saux Jason Roberts
Thierry Henry Jermaine Jenas Niall Quinn Kevin Miles
Jamie Carragher Kelly Cates Eni Aluko EA representative
Hayley McQueen Alan Shearer Shay Given Barclays representative
Rio Ferdinand Jacqui Oatley Chris Foy Carling representative
Dion Dublin Alex Scott Mark Schwarzer Andy Townsend
Paddy Barclay      

Awards history

The Manager of the Month award began in 1993/94, a year after the Premier League's debut season in 1992/93. Meanwhile the Player of the Month award followed in 1994/95.

The inaugural Manager of the Month winner was Manchester United’s Sir Alex Ferguson in August 1993. The former Old Trafford boss went on to win the award a record 27 times.

Tottenham Hotspur striker Jurgen Klinsmann won the maiden Player of the Month in August 1994. Liverpool’s Steven Gerrard holds the record for the most awards with six.

See: Awards history