Vardy joins list of year's first Premier League goalscorers

2 Jan 2019
Jamie Vardy - Everton v Leicester City

Leicester forward gets the opening strike of 2019, but in whose footsteps did he follow?

Related Articles
Vardy strikes to hand Everton defeat
Final day to register for ePremier League

With his second-half strike against Everton, Jamie Vardy scored the Premier League's opening goal of 2019.

It was the first time a Leicester City player had struck the first goal of a calendar year. 

It was also only the second occasion in the past six years that a forward had scored the year's opening Premier League goal, after Harry Kane did so for Tottenham Hotspur in 2017. 

There were 1,032 goals scored in total in the PL in 2018, a drop of 52 on the previous year as defences tightened up. 

Scorers of each year's first PL goal
Year Player Team
1992 Brian Deane Sheff Utd
1993 Mark Brennan Oldham 
1994 Tim Breacker West Ham 
1995 Mick Harford Wimbledon
1996 John Ebbrell Everton
1997 Alan Shearer Newcastle United
1998 Paolo Di Canio Sheff Wed
1999* Hassan Kachloul Southampton
Jason Euell Wimbledon
2000 Branko Strupar Derby County
2001 Marcus Stewart Ipswich Town
2002 Marcus Bent Ipswich Town
2003 Juan Sebastian Veron** Sunderland
2004 Juan Pablo Ángel Aston Villa
2005 Joe Cole Chelsea
2006 Steven Davis Aston Villa
2007 Peter Crouch Liverpool
2008 Danny Murphy Fulham
2009 Curtis Davies Aston Villa
2010 Tuncay Sanli Stoke City
2011 Wayne Rooney Man Utd
2012 Victor Anichebe Everton
2013 Dimitar Berbatov Fulham
2014 Fernandinho Man City
2015 Ryan Shawcross Stoke City
2016 Michail Antonio West Ham
2017 Harry Kane Spurs
2018 Anthony Knockaert Brighton 
2019 Jamie Vardy Leicester

*both scored after eight minutes of their matches
**own goal

Latest Videos

More Videos