Premier League Logo
FIFA 2018 World Cup

Pogba strikes as France win World Cup

15 Jul 2018
Hugo Lloris lifts the 2018 World Cup

Hugo Lloris lifts trophy after Man Utd midfielder scores in 4-2 win over Croatia as Harry Kane claims Golden Boot

Paul Pogba and Hugo Lloris wrote themselves into history as France beat Croatia 4-2 to win the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

The strike from Pogba to make it 3-1 was the first goal in a World Cup final by a Manchester United player and the first by a Premier League player since Pogba's compatriot Emmanuel Petit found the net in 1998.

Tottenham Hotspur goalkeeper Lloris became the first Premier League player to lift the trophy as the winning captain.

In total, five Premier League players can claim to be 2018 world champions, with Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante and Olivier Giroud starting for France and Manchester City’s Benjamin Mendy also in Didier Deschamps's squad.

There was disappointment for Croatia and Liverpool defender Dejan Lovren.

Harry Kane claimed the Golden Boot for his six goals for England, while Chelsea and Belgium goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois won the Golden Glove. 

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos