2018 FIFA World Cup

Premier League players in action at 2018 FIFA World Cup

15 Jun 2018
Hugo Lloris, Harry Maguire, Granit Xhaka and Romelu Lukaku

A total of 108 players from 2017/18 PL are representing their countries at FIFA tournament in Russia this summer

Related Articles
Premier League players at 2018 World Cup by clubs
City’s World Cup contingent External Link
Rojo to the rescue! External Link

More than 100 players who were part of the 2017/18 Premier League have been on international duty at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. 

In total, 108 players from the squads of the 20 clubs in the 2017/18 Premier League were selected by their national teams.

All but five of the 32 countries picked at least one PL player. Aside from England, whose whole squad of 23 players come from the Premier League, Belgium are the country with the next most PL representatives.

Roberto Martinez, the Belgium coach, selected 12 players from Premier League clubs.

The host nation, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Uruguay, Iran and Panama are the only nations without a PL representative. 

A further 11 players who are set to feature in the 2018/19 Premier League are also at the tournament, which kicked off on 14 June.

These include Leicester City's new right-back, Ricardo Pereira, and the new Wolves goalkeeper Rui Patricio, who are in Portugal's squad, and Switzerland captain, Stephan Lichtsteiner, who has agreed to join Arsenal.

See: Premier League players at 2018 World Cup by clubs

PL representation at World Cup

*Players loaned out in 2017/18 and/or have registered or agreed deals with clubs in 2018/19 PL

Group A

Egypt Ahmed Hegazi (West Brom); Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal); Aly Gabr (West Brom), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Ramadan Sobhi (Huddersfield Town).

Group B

Portugal Rui Patricio* (Wolves); Ricardo Pereira* (Leicester), Cedric Soares (Southampton); Joao Mario (West Ham), Adrien Silva (Leicester), Bernardo Silva (Man City).

Spain David De Gea (Man Utd); Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal); David Silva (Man City).

Morocco Nordin Amrabat (Watford), Romain Saiss* (Wolves).

Group C

France Hugo Lloris (Spurs); Benjamin Mendy (Man City); Paul Pogba (Man Utd), N'Golo Kante (Chelsea); Olivier Giroud (Chelsea).

Australia Mat Ryan (Brighton); Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield).

Peru Andre Carrillo (Watford).

Denmark Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester), Jonas Lossl (Huddersfield); Andreas Christensen (Chelsea), Zanka (Huddersfield); Christian Eriksen (Spurs).

Group D

Argentina Willy Caballero (Chelsea); Nicolas Otamendi (Man City), Marcos Rojo (Man Utd); Sergio Aguero (Man City).

Iceland Johann Berg Gudmundsson (Burnley), Aron Gunnarsson* (Cardiff), Gylfi Sigurdsson (Everton).

Croatia Dejan Lovren (Liverpool).

Nigeria Leon Balogun* (Brighton), Victor Moses, Kenneth Omeruo* (both Chelsea); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester), Ahmed Musa* (Leicester).

Group E

Brazil Ederson (Man City); Danilo (Man City); Fernandinho (Man City), Fred* (Man Utd), Willian (Chelsea); Gabriel Jesus (Man City), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool).

Switzerland Stephan Lichtsteiner* (Arsenal); Granit Xhaka (Arsenal); Xherdan Shaqiri (Stoke).

Costa Rica Joel Campbell* (Arsenal).

Serbia Nemanja Matic (Man Utd), Luka Milivojevic (Crystal Palace), Marko Grujic (Liverpool), Dusan Tadic (Southampton); Aleksandar Mitrovic (Newcastle).

Group F

Germany Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea); Ilkay Gundogan (Man City), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal).

Mexico Chicharito (West Ham); Raul Jimenez* (Wolves).

Sweden Kristoffer Nordfeldt (Swansea); Victor Lindelof (Man Utd), Martin Olsson (Swansea).

South Korea Ki Sung-yueng (Swansea); Son Heung-min (Spurs).

Group G

Belgium Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool); Toby Alderweireld (Spurs), Vincent Kompany (Man City), Jan Vertonghen (Spurs); Nacer Chadli (West Brom), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City), Mousa Dembele (Spurs), Marouane Fellaini (Man Utd); Michy Batshuayi (Chelsea), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Man Utd).

Tunisia Yohan Benalouane (Leicester).

England Jack Butland (Stoke), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley); Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jones (Man Utd), Harry Maguire (Leicester), Danny Rose (Spurs), John Stones (Man City), Kieran Trippier (Spurs), Ashley Young (Man Utd), Kyle Walker (Man City); Dele Alli (Spurs), Fabian Delph (Man City), Eric Dier (Spurs), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Man Utd), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea); Harry Kane (Spurs), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

Group H

Poland Lukasz Fabianski* (West Ham); Jan Bednarek (Southampton); Grzegorz Krychowiak (West Brom).

Senegal Idrissa Gueye (Everton), Cheikhou Kouyate (West Ham), Badou N'Diaye (Stoke); Mame Biram Diouf (Stoke), Sadio Mane (Liverpool).

Colombia David Ospina (Arsenal); Davinson Sanchez (Spurs); Jose Izquierdo (Brighton).

Japan Maya Yoshida (Southampton); Shinji Okazaki (Leicester).

Latest Videos

More Videos