Premier League Logo

Vardy wins Barclays Player of the Season award

Dan Nelson 17 May 2016

Leicester striker earns award for first time, having scored 24 goals as the Foxes won the BPL title

Jamie Vardy has won the Barclays Player of the Season award after playing a starring role in Leicester City's Barclays Premier League title.

The 29-year-old striker has scored 24 goals and provided six assists in 35 matches this season, helping the Foxes to their first BPL crown, and wins the award for the first time.

Player Profile: Jamie Vardy >>

Vardy beat off competition from team-mates Wes Morgan, Riyad Mahrez, N'Golo Kante and Kasper Schmeichel, as well as the Tottenham Hotspur trio of Harry Kane, Dele Alli and Toby Alderweireld, West Ham United midfielder Dimitri Payet and Arsenal's Mesut Ozil.

He set a record of scoring in 11 successive BPL matches in the 1-1 draw with Manchester United on 28 November, breaking the mark set by Ruud van Nistelrooy.

Vardy has scored 24 goals and provided six assists in 35 matches this season

Vardy has finished the campaign strongly, with five goals in his last three matches.

Having won the Football Writers' Association Player of the Year award this month, Vardy could claim a hat-trick of season honours if he surpasses the league's top scorer Harry Kane, who is on 25 goals, at Chelsea on Sunday to claim the Barclays Golden Boot.

Vardy is only in his second BPL campaign, having played non-league football before his switch from Fleetwood Town to Leicester, then in the Championship in 2012.

He is Leicester City's first Barclays Player of the Season and it means that a different club has had the winner in the last six campaigns.

Eleven clubs have had players win the award, with Manchester United (eight) picking up the most.

Barclays Player of the Season winners

2015/16 Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)
2014/15 Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
2013/14 Luis Suarez (Liverpool)
2012/13 Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)
2011/12 Vincent Kompany (Manchester City)
2010/11 Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)
2009/10 Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
2008/09 Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)
2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
2006/07 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
2005/06 Frank Lampard (Chelsea)
2004/05 Frank Lampard (Chelsea)
2003/04 Thierry Henry (Arsenal)
2002/03 Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United)
2001/02 Freddie Ljungberg (Arsenal)
2000/01 Patrick Vieira (Arsenal)
1999/00 Kevin Phillips (Sunderland)
1998/99 Dwight Yorke (Manchester United)
1997/98 Michael Owen (Liverpool)
1996/97 Juninho (Middlesbrough)
1995/96 Peter Schmeichel (Manchester United)
1994/95 Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers)
1993/94 Not awarded
1992/93 Not awarded

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos