Which Premier League players have starred at Euros in the past?

13 Jun 2024
Euro lead-NEW

We look at the players who have won European Championships or claimed the Golden Boot at the tournament

Related Articles
Premier League players appearing at UEFA EURO 2024 by nation
Premier League players appearing at EURO 2024 by club
Summer 2024: Key football dates for your calendar

The Premier League have 104 players heading to UEFA EURO 2024 this summer, with 44 playing for the five nations most-favoured to win the tournament: England, France, Germany, Spain and Portugal.

Indeed, only three of the 24 competing nations - Austria, Georgia and Slovenia - don’t have Premier League representation, meaning there is a high chance a player from England's top flight will lift the trophy in Berlin come 14 July.

Since the Premier League started in 1992/93 there have been seven European Championships and a total of 29 players have won the tournament while contracted to a Premier League team. Only one player - Fernando Torres - has lifted the Henri Delaunay trophy twice as a Premier League player.

Of the 104 players in Germany this summer, Jorginho is the only one who can match the Spaniard's record, as the Arsenal midfielder aims to retain the trophy Italy won at Wembley three years ago.

Here, we take a look at who the Premier League's past European champions were.

France 2000

Patrick Vieira, Thierry Henry, Emmanuel Petit (all Arsenal), Didier Deschamps, Marcel Desailly, Frank Leboeuf (all Chelsea).

France Euro 2000 winners
Greece 2004

Stelios Giannakopoulos (Bolton Wanderers)

Greece 2004 Euro winners
Spain 2008

Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal), Fernando Torres, Xabi Alonso, Alvaro Arbeloa, Pepe Reina (all Liverpool)

Spain 2008 Euro winners
Spain 2012

David Silva (Manchester City), Fernando Torres, Juan Mata (both Chelsea)

Spain 2012 Euro winners
Portugal 2016

Cedric Soares, Jose Fonte (both Southampton), Eder (Swansea City, left on 1 July to Lille)

Portugal Euro 2016 winners
Italy 2020

Jorginho, Emerson (both Chelsea)

Italy Euro 2020 winners
EURO Golden Boot winners

There hasn’t been a Golden Boot winner from a Premier League club at the Euros since 2012. And there have been only four in history. The league's back-to-back top scorer Erling Haaland missed out on qualification for Germany with Norway but Cole Palmer, who scored 22 Premier League goals last season and Phil Foden, who got 19 have both made the England squad.

Premier League Euro Golden Boot winners
Player Year Club Country Goals
Alan Shearer 1996 BLB England 5
Milan Baros 2004 LIV Czech Republic 5
Mario Balotelli 2012 MCI Italy 3
Fernando Torres* 2012 CHE Spain 3

*Torres claimed the award because of his assist record

Latest Videos

More Videos
24 Jul 2024

If Premier League players were Olympians

Gymnasts, sprinters, boxers and more. In another life, these footballers could be starring at the Olympic Games!

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

You have already entered this competition. Please check your email for further information.

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

Create a Premier League account


You are logged in as

Enter your details to submit your entry.