Premier League Asia Trophy

History of the Premier League Asia Trophy

25 May 2017
2015 Premier League Asia Trophy winners Arsenal

Hong Kong's 2017 tournament will be the eighth edition of the competition, last won by Arsenal in 2015

The Premier League Asia Trophy returns for its eighth edition this summer, with Liverpool, Leicester City, West Bromwich Albion and Crystal Palace competing in Hong Kong on Wednesday 19 and Saturday 22 July.

Hong Kong will be hosting the tournament for the fourth time. Liverpool featured in the first competition there, and will make their second Asia Trophy appearance this summer, while Crystal Palace, Leicester and West Brom are preparing for their debuts.

See: PL Asia Trophy returns to Hong Kong

Here we look back at the previous tournaments, which have been won by six different clubs.

Kuala Lumpur, 2003

The inaugural competition was held at the Bukit Jalil Stadium, in Kuala Lumpur, and Chelsea emerged as the first winners after a penalty shoot-out over Newcastle United in the final. Birmingham City and Malaysia also competed as the west London club won their first silverware under Roman Abramovich’s ownership.

2003 Asia Trophy winners Chelsea
John Terry and manager Claudio Ranieri, then of Chelsea, lift the inaugural PL Asia Trophy

Bangkok, 2005

Bolton Wanderers took the title at the Rajamangala National Stadium, in the Thai capital, seeing off challenges from Everton, Manchester City and Thailand’s Under-23 team.

Bolton Wanderers win 2005 Premier League Asia Trophy
Jay Jay Okocha gets a hero's reception from fans after helping Bolton win the 2005 Asia Trophy

See: Latest updates from the 2017 Premier League Asia Trophy

Hong Kong, 2007

Again, penalties were needed to find a winner, with Portsmouth beating Liverpool 4–2 on from the spot in the Hong Kong Stadium, while Fulham and South China FC also took part.

Fernando Torres, Liverpool
Liverpool signing Fernando Torres couldn't stop Portsmouth winning the 2007 competition

Beijing, 2009

Tottenham Hotspur took the crown after a commanding 3-0 victory over Hull City in the final at the Beijing Workers Stadium, also finishing ahead of West Ham United and Beijing Guoan.

Tottenham Hotspur celebrate winning 2009 PL Asia Trophy
Spurs earned a 3-0 win against Hull to triumph in the Beijing edition of the tournament

Hong Kong, 2011

Chelsea secured their second Premier League Asia Trophy title, this time at the Hong Kong Stadium, after overcoming Aston Villa 2-0. Blackburn Rovers and Kitchee also featured.

2011 Premier League Asia Trophy winners Chelsea
Players and fans alike celebrate after Chelsea score in the 2011 Asia Trophy final

Hong Kong, 2013

Hong Kong hosted the tournament again as Edin Dzeko struck the decisive goal in Man City’s 1-0 victory over Sunderland in the final. Spurs and South China were beaten in the semi-finals.

Edin Dzeko with the 2013 Asia Trophy
Edin Dzeko lifts the 2013 PL Asia Trophy after scoring Man City's winner

Singapore, 2015

The most recent edition of the tournament was won by Arsenal, after they beat Everton 3-1 at the Singapore National Stadium. Stoke City and a Singapore XI also competed.

Arsenal v Everton, 2015 Premier League Asia Trophy
Theo Walcott scored as Arsenal beat Everton 3-1 to claim the 2015 PL Asia Trophy

See: Palace, Leicester, Liverpool and West Brom to compete in 2017 tournament

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos