Iraola wins March 2024 Barclays Manager of the Month award

12 Apr 2024

Spaniard claims March's prize and becomes only the second Bournemouth boss to win it

Related Articles
Muniz voted March 2024 EA SPORTS Player of the Month
March 2024 Barclays Manager of the Month nominees
Arteta wins seventh Barclays Manager of the Month award

Andoni Iraola has been named as March 2024's Barclays Manager of the Month. 

Iraola wins the award for the first time after leading AFC Bournemouth through the month unbeaten, winning three matches and drawing the other. 

The Spaniard's team won 2-0 at Burnley and earned home victories over Luton Town and Everton. Their 4-3 win against Luton was spectacular, as it was the first time in 21 years a Premier League team had been trailing 3-0 and come back to win.

"This award is for the whole club. I’m the one in charge but we have had a good run of results in March," Iraola said. "The ones that probably deserve it more are the players because they are the ones that give us the chance to be successful and get the results.

"Luton was a special game. We have had a few games where we were close to not winning them and scored late.”

Iraola and coaching staff, Barclays Manager of the Month

Iraola is only the second Bournemouth manager to win the award, following Eddie Howe, who won it three times with the Cherries in 2017 and 2018 before joining current club Newcastle United

Overall Iraola is only the fifth Bournemouth winner of a Premier League monthly award, joining Howe, Dominic Solanke, Jermain Defoe and Charlie Daniels. Solanke won the EA SPORTS Player of the Month award in December 2023, while Defoe and Daniels won the Budweiser Goal of the Month in December and August of 2017 respectively. 

Iraola topped a four-man shortlist that also included Arsenal's Mikel Arteta, Liverpool's Jurgen Klopp and Tottenham Hotspur's Ange Postecoglou.

He wins March's award after votes from the public were combined with those of a panel of experts. 

2023/24 Barclays Manager winners

August: Ange Postecoglou (Spurs)
September: Ange Postecoglou (Spurs)
October: Ange Postecoglou (Spurs)
November: Erik ten Hag (Man Utd)
December: Unai Emery (Aston Villa)
January: Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)
February: Mikel Arteta (Arsenal)
March: Andoni Iraola (Bournemouth)

Latest Videos

More Videos