Premier League Logo
Premier League 2

Everton crowned Premier League 2 champions

24 Apr 2017
PL2 Division 1 champions Everton

David Unsworth's team claim first title after Manchester City lose to Liverpool

Everton are the 2016/17 Premier League 2 champions after Manchester City lost to Liverpool on Monday night.

City had to beat Liverpool to stop David Unsworth's team, who were six points ahead, but lost 3-2 at Prenton Park thanks to a stoppage-time Matty Virtue goal.

See: Liverpool report

Everton will receive the PL2 trophy when they host Liverpool on Monday 8 May.

Elsewhere in PL2, West Ham United sealed a promotion play-off place in Division 2 after a 4-0 win at West Bromwich Albion sent them above Blackburn Rovers, who drew 0-0 with Aston Villa, into fifth.

West Ham will travel to Wolverhampton Wanderers in the one-off semi-final, while Fulham, who stayed in fourth despite losing 4-1 to Wolves, will go to Newcastle United.

See: PL2 tables

Past champions (*U21 Premier League)

2015/16 Manchester United
2014/15 Manchester United
2013/14 Chelsea
2012/13 Manchester United

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to make our website work and improve your user experience. Essential cookies are required for the operation of our website. You may disable these but this may affect website functionality. Non-essential cookies help us improve the functionality of our website by collecting information and reporting on your use of the website as well as improving your user experience. You can manage your cookie settings and switch off non-essential cookies via the “Manage Settings” below.

Manage Settings
I accept cookies from this site