Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame 2023 shortlist revealed

8 Apr 2023

Fans can choose which three legends are inducted from a shortlist of 15 former players

Related Articles
Ferguson and Wenger inducted into Premier League Hall of Fame
Six new inductees voted into Premier League Hall of Fame
Rooney and Vieira enter Premier League Hall of Fame

The Premier League has revealed a shortlist of 15 former players who are eligible to join the Hall of Fame in 2023, and you can decide who goes in.

Tony Adams Ashley Cole Gary Neville
Sol Campbell Jermain Defoe Michael Owen
Michael Carrick Les Ferdinand John Terry
Petr Cech Rio Ferdinand Yaya Toure
Andrew Cole Robbie Fowler Nemanja Vidic

Fans around the world have voted for the three players who will take their place in the Hall of Fame, alongside the 16 previous inductees and Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger, who became the first managers to be inducted this week.

When does voting close?
Voting closed at 18:00 BST on Monday 10 April, with the three inductees to be announced on Wednesday 3 May.

How are players shortlisted?
Entry on to the shortlist takes into account the Premier League career statistics of players who meet the Hall of Fame selection criteria, and voting data from previous Hall of Fame shortlists in 2021 and 2022.

Career achievements considered include individual and team honours, and a player's total Premier League appearances, goals, assists and clean sheets.

Who is eligible?
To be eligible for this year's Premier League Hall of Fame, players must have been retired by 1 January 2023, and only a player's Premier League career is considered in their candidacy, not their performances in other competitions during the Premier League era.

What do the inducted players get?
Each inductee will receive a personalised medallion, engraved with the year of their induction, and a £10,000 donation will be made by the Premier League to a charity of the player's choice.

Who are the previous Hall of Fame inductees?
The Hall of Fame launched in 2021, with inaugural inductees David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Thierry Henry, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard and Alan Shearer.

See: Shearer & Henry inducted into Hall of Fame

In 2022, Sergio Aguero, Didier Drogba, Vincent Kompany, Wayne Rooney, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Patrick Vieira and Ian Wright were inducted.

See: Rooney & Vieira enter Hall of Fame

Latest Videos

More Videos