ePremier League

Former champions eye history on ePL Finals Day

25 Mar 2023
ePL Finals Day 1

Liverpool, Spurs and West Ham among eight clubs to progress after thrilling Day 1

Related Articles
Leeds crowned 2022/23 ePL champions
ePL Finals Day 1 results and standings
2022/23 ePL Grand Finalists' profiles and competition explained

After 80 matches and countless brilliant goals, plenty of fresh and familiar faces have booked their spot in the 2022/23 ePremier League quarter-finals on Sunday.

See: ePL Finals Day 1 results and standings

There was a frenetic climax to Saturday’s group stage action, with two former champions at the heart of the drama.

Liverpool’s "Tekkz", Tom Leese of Tottenham Hotspur and West Ham’s "GoalPoacher" will all be aiming for a piece of ePL history as they each bid to become the first competitor to win two titles.

GoalPoacher is in contention to complete the first successful title defence after winning the tournament in 2021/22.

In Group A, Aston Villa and Crystal Palace secured their places in the last eight, with the Eagles finishing one point behind table-topping Villa. 

It was a familiar tale in Group B, where Liverpool once again asserted their dominance to top the five-team group without losing a match.

Tekkz, the Reds’ ePremier League champion in 2018/19, was in imperious form and conceded only three times in four matches. Joining them in the quarter-finals are Wolves, who edged out Fulham by a point.

West Ham and Leeds prevailed in Group C, both heading into their final-round encounter having gone unbeaten through their first three fixtures. 

Reigning champion GoalPoacher, winner of last year’s title with Norwich City, won three of his four matches as West Ham marched to top spot, while Dan Wright’s stunning victory over Leeds’ former finalist "Ollelito" secured top spot for the Hammers. 

That result sets up a box-office quarter-final meeting between Liverpool and Leeds, with West Ham to face Wolves.

Group D also went to the wire. Spurs, Leicester and AFC Bournemouth were all looking to leapfrog Everton, the quartet separated by a single point behind runaway group winners Nottingham Forest, who enjoyed a stunning ePL debut.

Experience told as Spurs prevailed, "Gorilla" securing a 2-0 win over the Foxes that sent him and 2020 champion Tom Leese into the quarter-finals. They will play Aston Villa, while Forest face Palace.

The quarter-final action begins at 15:00 BST, with a share of the £100,000 prize fund and the coveted ePL trophy on the line. 

See: Watch Day 2 live here

ePL Finals Day 2 knockout stages schedule
Time Match
15:17 QF1 (Xbox)  Aston Villa Spurs
QF2 (Xbox)  West Ham Wolves 
15:40 QF1 (PS) Spurs Aston Villa
QF2 (PS) Wolves West Ham
16:20 QF3 (Xbox) Nott'm Forest Crystal Palace
QF4 (Xbox) Liverpool Leeds
16:43 QF3 (PS) Crystal Palace Nott'm Forest
QF4 (PS) Leeds Liverpool
17:25 SF1 (PS) Winner QF1 Winner QF2
17:47 SF1 (Xbox) Winner QF3 Winner QF4
18:29 SF2 (PS) Winner QF2 Winner QF1
18:51 SF2 (Xbox) Winner QF4 Winner QF3
19:33 Final (Xbox) Winner SF1 Winner SF2
19:55 Final (PS) Winner SF2 Winner SF1


Latest Videos

More Videos