Opening Canos strike makes history for Brentford

13 Aug 2021
Sergi Canos, Brentford

Against Arsenal, midfielder becomes first player to score opening goal of a season for a new PL club since 1992/93

Related Articles
Ankersen: We believe we can make our mark
"I am so happy to be here and playing in the Premier League" External Link
Best Premier League opening-weekend goals

Sergi Canos wrote himself into the history books with a hat-trick of firsts when he scored the opening goal of the 2021/22 Premier League season for Brentford in their 2-0 win over Arsenal.

The Spanish midfielder's 22nd-minute strike ensured that the Bees became the first promoted club to open the scoring in a top-flight campaign since Hull City in 2016/17.

TV Info

Canos's effort - Brentford's first ever Premier League goal - was also the first time that a new club in the competition have netted first in a PL season since the inaugural 1992/93 campaign.

The last Spaniard to net the first goal of a Premier League season was Swansea City's Michu in 2012/13.

Arsenal's Alexandre Lacazette missed the trip to Brentford and was denied the opportunity to extend a Premier League record, having become the first player to score the opening goal of a campaign for two PL seasons in succession.

The Frenchman had previously achieved the feat on his Arsenal debut at home to Leicester City in 2017/18, before striking at Fulham in 2018/19.

Opening scorers for each PL season
Season Player Team Opp
1992/93 Brian Deane SHU MUN
1993/94 Peter Beagrie EVE SOU
1994/95 Kevin Campbell ARS MCI
1995/96 Efan Ekoku WIM BOL
1995/96 Alan Shearer BLB QPR
1995/96 Danny Williamson WHU LEE
1996/97 Stig Inge Bjornebye LIV MID
1997/98 Faustino Asprilla NEW SHW
1998/99 Emile Heskey LEI MUN
1999/00 Carl Cort WIM  WAT
2000/01 Mark Venus IPS TOT
2001/02 Kevin Nolan BOL LEI
2002/03 Michael Ricketts BOL FUL
2003/04 David Dunn BIR TOT
2004/05 Djibril Cisse LIV TOT
2005/06 Ruud van Nistelrooy MUN EVE
2006/07 Rob Hulse SHU LIV
2007/08 Michael Chopra SUN TOT
2008/09 Samir Nasri ARS WBA
2009/10 Stephen Hunt HUL CHE
2010/11 Nikola Kalinic BLB EVE
2011/12 Luis Suarez LIV SUN
2012/13 Michu SWA QPR
2013/14 Daniel Sturridge LIV STK
2014/15 Ki Sung-yueng SWA MUN
2015/16 Kyle Walker (OG) MUN TOT
2016/17 Adama Diomande HUL LEI
2017/18 Alexandre Lacazette ARS LEI
2018/19 Paul Pogba MUN LEI
2019/20 Grant Hanley (OG) LIV NOR
2020/21 Alexandre Lacazette ARS FUL
2021/22 Sergi Canos BRE ARS

Latest Videos

More Videos

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

You have already entered this competition. Please check your email for further information.

You have been entered into the competition. You will receive email confirmation of your entry with further details.

Create a Premier League account


You are logged in as

Enter your details to submit your entry.