Premier League Logo
Hall of Fame

Nominees to join Hall of Fame in 2021

9 May 2021

See the 23 players who could go into Hall of Fame alongside Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry

Fans had up until 18:00 BST on Sunday 9 May to help decide which six former players will join inaugural inductees Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry in the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The six players from the 23-man shortlist with the most combined votes from the public and the Premier League panel will enter the Hall of Fame.

See: Premier League Hall of Fame


To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame this year, players must have been retired as of 1 August 2020, and only a player’s Premier League career is considered in his candidacy.

2021 Hall of Fame nominees
Player Clubs
Eric Cantona LEE, MUN
Tony Adams ARS
Matthew Le Tissier SOU
Ian Wright ARS, WHU
Peter Schmeichel MUN, AVL, MCI
Roy Keane NFO, MUN
Les Ferdinand QPR, NEW, TOT, WHU, LEI, BOL
Sol Campbell TOT, ARS, POR, NEW
Robbie Fowler LIV, LEE, MCI, BLB
Paul Scholes MUN
David Beckham MUN
Frank Lampard WHU, CHE, MCI
Rio Ferdinand WHU, LEE, MUN, QPR
Dennis Bergkamp ARS
Patrick Vieira ARS, MCI
Michael Owen LIV, NEW, MUN, STK
Steven Gerrard LIV
John Terry CHE
Ashley Cole ARS, CHE
Didier Drogba CHE
Robin van Persie ARS, MUN
Nemanja Vidic MUN

Each inductee will receive a personalised medallion, engraved with the year of their induction.

The Premier League Hall of Fame lives online, with a dedicated content hub on the Premier League website and app.

Follow @premierleague and #PLHallOfFame on social media for further details.

See: Premier League Hall of Fame nominees

Also in this series

Part 1: Shearer and Henry inducted into Hall of Fame
Part 2: Shearer: I never thought I would be the record goalscorer
Part 3: Henry: I wanted to elevate the forward position
Part 5: Hall of Fame broadcast reveals nominees for 2021

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos