Premier League Logo

Lacazette sets record with opening strike

14 Sep 2020
Fulham v Arsenal

Arsenal forward becomes first player to score the first goal of a season on more than one occasion

With his goal in the ninth minute of Arsenal’s match at FulhamAlexandre Lacazette set a Premier League record. 

The forward became the first player to score the opening goal of a Premier League season for the second time.

TV Info

Lacazette had previously achieved the feat on his Arsenal debut at home to Leicester City in the opening match of the 2017/18 season, scoring after less than two minutes.

The Frenchman's strike against Fulham was also the fourth time that Arsenal had scored the first goal of a Premier League season, putting them only one behind Liverpool, who lead the way.

Opening scorers for each PL season
Season Player Team Opp
1992/93 Brian Deane SHU MUN
1993/94 Peter Beagrie EVE SOU
1994/95 Kevin Campbell ARS MCI
1995/96 Efan Ekoku WIM BOL
1995/96 Alan Shearer BLB QPR
1995/96 Danny Williamson WHU LEE
1996/97 Stig Inge Bjornebye LIV MID
1997/98 Faustino Asprilla NEW SHW
1998/99 Emile Heskey LEI MUN
1999/00 Carl Cort WIM  WAT
2000/01 Mark Venus IPS TOT
2001/02 Kevin Nolan BOL LEI
2002/03 Michael Ricketts BOL FUL
2003/04 David Dunn BIR TOT
2004/05 Djibril Cisse LIV TOT
2005/06 Ruud van Nistelrooy MUN EVE
2006/07 Rob Hulse SHU LIV
2007/08 Michael Chopra SUN TOT
2008/09 Samir Nasri ARS WBA
2009/10 Stephen Hunt HUL CHE
2010/11 Nikola Kalinic BLB EVE
2011/12 Luis Suarez LIV SUN
2012/13 Michu SWA QPR
2013/14 Daniel Sturridge LIV STK
2014/15 Ki Sung-yueng SWA MUN
2015/16 Kyle Walker (OG) MUN TOT
2016/17 Adama Diomande HUL LEI
2017/18 Alexandre Lacazette ARS LEI
2018/19 Paul Pogba MUN LEI
2019/20 Grant Hanley (OG) LIV NOR
2020/21 Alexandre Lacazette ARS FUL

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos