Premier League Logo

Chelsea confirmed as 2019/20 PL2 champions

7 Aug 2020
Billy Gilmour celebrates a Chelsea team-mate's goal in PL2

Clubs have agreed to determine the final Academy Games Programme standings using a Points Per Game system

Following the curtailment of the Academy Games Programme for season 2019/20, clubs yesterday agreed to determine the final standings using a Points Per Game system.

Using this methodology, Chelsea have been crowned champions of Premier League 2 Division 1, with Wolverhampton Wanderers relegated.

In Division 2, runners-up Manchester United will join winners West Ham United in promotion to the top tier of PL2.

Due to the curtailed season, clubs were unable to complete the playoff fixtures.

It was therefore agreed that the Division 2 champions and second-placed team would both be promoted to Division 1 for the 2020/21 season.

Under-18 standings

The Points Per Game solution has also been applied to the Under-18 Premier League, the Under-18 Professional Development League and the Professional Development League, which features Under-23 Category 2 teams.

Fulham have been crowned U18 Premier League South champions, while Manchester City win the U18 Premier League North title.

Despite the national playoff match not being able to be played, based on Points Per Game, Man City have been crowned overall Under-18 National champions and gained qualification for the 2020/21 UEFA Youth League.

Millwall finished top of the PDL South at both Under-23 and Under-18 age groups, while Nottingham Forest have been crowned champions of PDL North. Wigan Athletic are the U18 PDL North winners.

Premier League Shareholders today also agreed to curtail the Premier League International Cup, the Premier League Cup and the U18 Premier League Cup, without a winner being awarded.

Games Programme 2020/21 Update

The 2020/21 season will include some changes to the structure of PL2 Division 1 and Division 2.

Three new Category 1 Academies, Burnley, Crystal Palace and Leeds United, will enter Division 2 for the upcoming campaign, meaning Division 1 will comprise 13 teams and Division 2 will feature 14 teams.

Latest News

More News: Latest News

Latest Videos

More Videos: Latest Videos

Cookies on

The Premier League website employs cookies to make our website work and improve your user experience. Essential cookies are required for the operation of our website. You may disable these but this may affect website functionality. Non-essential cookies help us improve the functionality of our website by collecting information and reporting on your use of the website as well as improving your user experience. You can manage your cookie settings and switch off non-essential cookies via the “Manage Settings” below.

Manage Settings
I accept cookies from this site